All Rounder banner
All rounder banner
Transfers: All the moves as they happen
Black Sheep gold
Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy
Updated: Thursday, December 31, 2015 20:47
2014 FINAL
Elsecar made a big impression in their first final and lifted the trophy with victory over York


Match scoreboard
Picture gallery


Glenn Yates took a hat-trick as Elsecar defeated York by eight wickets to win the Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy for the first time at Hanging Heaton.

Man of the match Yates took the final three wickets of the York innings in successive balls as the 2013 Yorkshire League champions were bowled out for 137 in 43.5 overs.

All-rounder Yates finished with 4-32, but he would be the first to admit that the early strikes of Iftikhar Afzal (3-17) and Andy Ivill were decisive blows from which York never truly recovered.

They slumped to 34-5 after being put in to bat by Elsecar captain Ian Swallow, the former Yorkshire spin bowler.
Only the battling Liam McKendry, who top scored with 54, looked able to combat the accurate Elsecar attack which was backed by keen fielding.

McKendry was the first victim of Yates’ hat-trick and with him went any hope York had of posting a challenging score. McKendry was caught and bowled by Yates who followed up by bowling York skipper Daniel Woods. He completed his stunning teble strike bytrappinmg last man Chris Burn for nough.

Elsecar lost opener Jason Meadows with 17 on the board, clean bowled by the erratic Richard Pineo who conceded 13 wides, but Ainsley Swallow was soon into his stride.

He was joined in a decisive second-wicket partnership of 101 which took Elsecar to the brink of victory by Brett Hunsley (25no). Swallow struck two sixes and 11 fours in his fine innings of 69.  His departure brought in Yates to see Elsecar to their target with 19.5 overs to spare.

It was a comprehensive win for Elsecar on a day when everything went to plan from the moment they won the toss. For York it was their fourth defeat in five final appearnces, but they would be the first to acknowledge that they were outplayed.


Ian Austin (Captain)
Daniel Woods (Captain)
Jason Meadows
Simon Lambert
Brett Hunsley
Iain Jarvis
Glenn Yates
Leon McKendry
Ainsley Swallow
Ryan McKendry
Shahzad Rana
Nick Kay
Luke Townsend
Richard Love
Andrew Joburns (wkt)
Charlie Elliott
Iftikhar Afzal
Tom Pringle
Andrew Ivill
Richard Pineo
Adrian Meadows
Chris Burn
12th man:
!2th man Tom Love
Umpires: Nick Oddy and Jason Pitcher
Man of the match adjudicator: John Carruthers
Sano advert
Rehman Pc Sports Pro Coach