All Rounder banner
All rounder banner
Transfers: All the moves as they happen
 First Teams Review
Updated: Sunday, July 17, 2016 20:34
Alex Atkinson
Alex Atkinson on his way to an unbeaten 50 for Woodlands against Bradford & Bingley Picture: Richard Kosmala



Priestley Cup

Pudsey St Lawrence and Woodlands will contest the Priestkley Cup final at Spen Victoria on Sunday, August 28.

It means that Sarfraz Ahmed will get the chance to win one last piece of silverware as he prepares to bring down the curtain on his 16-year career with Woodlands.

The two semi-finals proved to be one-sided affairs with Woodlands defeating Bradford & Bingley by nine wickets and St Lawrence overcoming Scholes by seven wickets.

Woodlands retrurned to Wagon Lane, the scene of their only Priestley Cup final triumph in 2006, to knock holders Bradford & Bingley out.

David Clow (25) and Charlie Best (20) were the top scorers in a disappointing Bradford & Bingley batting display. Spinner Chris Brice was the main wicket taker with 4-11, while Sarfraz (2-19) and Kez Ahmed (2-25) gave good support.

Yassir Abbas dismissed Sam Frankland early but former Bradford & Bingley batsman Alex Atkinson and skipper Tim Jackson shared an unbroken second-wicket stand of 86nto see theior side into the final. Atkinson hit two sixes and eight fours in an unbeaten 50.

Scholes, playing in their first semi-final, chose to bat first against St Lawrence and were soon in trouble. Richie Lamb dismissed Neil Kellett with the first ball of the game and they soon found themselves reduced to 31-4 by Lamb (2-35) anmd Charlie Parker (2-14).

Skipper James Stansfield (25) and Christian Jackson (23) tried to break the dominance of the bowlers but couldn't prevent their side from being bowled out for 106. All of the five St Lawrence bowlers took two wickets wiith off spinner Chris Marsden reyurning the economical figures of 2-16 in his full ten overs.

St Lawrence didn't find runs any easier to come by. They took 36 overs to achieve victory and lost three wickets along the way.

Opener Mark Robertshaw top scored with 32 although Barrie Frankland (30no) batted with greater freedom than almost anybody else in the match.

Jack Hampshire Cup

Ossett and Buttershaw St Paul's secured their places in this year's final which will be staged at Ossett on Sunday, August 14.

Ossett proved too strong for Conference side Adwalton as they romped to a nine-wicket victory, but in the other semi-final Buttershaw St Paul's overcme Keighley by seven wickets.

Adwalton were dismissed for 121 with Dean Jackson (35) and Ben Garner (30) providing the bulk of their side's runs as Charlie Orme (4-28) and Khalid Usman (3-13) impressed with the ball.

Ossett were guided towards their modest victory target by openers Richard Whitehurst (60no) and Harvey Anderson (52) as they shared a partnership of 113. Whitehurst hit two sixes and nine fours while Anderson struck one six and ten fours.

A second-wicket stand of 114 between Kevin McDermott (64) and Paul Carroll (48) helped speed Buttershaw St Paul's to a place in the final.

They chased down the Keighley score of 185 in 29.5 overs and backed up the earlier work of their bowlers. McDermott was the pick of the attack with 3-15. Opener Andy Wear was the top scorer for Keighley with 60 while Louis Horsfield made 37.


Players Cars