web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Jowett makes season's top score in Lightcliffe victory

Jowett makes season's top score in Lightcliffe victory

Rhys Jowett made the highest individual score of the season to power Lightcliffe to their first Gordon Rigg Second Teams Premier League Cup win.

The opener made150 not out, a superb innings containing five sixes and 18 fours, which powered his side to 266-2 against East Bierley and set up a 95-run triumph.

Jonathan Wilson (57) added 149 for the second wicket with Jowett while Bradley Atkinson made 33 in Lightcliffe’s best batting performance of the campaign.

Skipper Ross Monaghan (51o and Nicky Rushworth (52) gave East Bierley a good start, but their colleagues could not build on their good work as they were bowled out for 171 with young Tom Burton taking 4-49.

Bankfoot have closed to withing six points of West Section leaders Bradford & Bingley after bowling them out for 85 to secure an 84-run win. Muhammad Qadim impressed with 4-16 after Farhaad Mir (56) had helped Bankfoot to make 169.

The East Section leaders Batley also tasted defeat. They went down by 72 runs to bottom team Pudsey St Lawrence and their lead is down to a single point after Gomersal’s two-wicket victory at New Farnley.

Even a spell of 6-50 from Saqif Ridwan was not enough to save Batley from defeat. Despite his efforts with ball, St Lawrence made 195 with skipper Jordan Moore making 50, Aaron Day (38) and Brian Devine (34).

Batley’s batting faltered badly and their total of 123 was only due to 50 from Vakas Mirza batting at number nine. Adam Frost (4-15) and Karl Morris (3-11) helped Saints secure their first win.

Lewis Edmund (56) and Adam Ives (42) helped Gomersal to edge home at New Farnley where they were responding to the home’s side’s 189-7. Mark Lawson (46), Chris Sowden (42) and Joey Whitehead (36) were the main contributors.

Baildon knocked Northowram Fields off the top of the Division One West Section after bowling them out for 62 to complete and emphatic 180-run win.

Once again it was leg spinner Jamie Abbott who came up with a match-winning performance. He took 5-14 as Northowram Fields crumbled when replying to a challenging 242-4.

Openers Darren Wilson (67) and George Barker (52) set the tone for the Baildon performance with a stan of 128.

Keighley came out on top in a low-scoring game with Cleckheaton, winning by eight wickets. They bowled out their visitors for 81 with Louis Wilkinson (4-32) and Mohammed Yousef (3-16) posing problems. Veteran Steve Reape 933n o) ensured Keighley won with the minimum of fuss.

With Pudsey Congs not playing, Carlton seized their chance to take over at the top of the East Section with a55-run win over East Ardsley.

Carlton recovered from 2-2 to make 212-8 thanks to a fine 101 from William Hayton. He hit five sixes and 12 fours as he led the revival with help from Danny Sampson (40). Steve Blow (3-27) was the best of the East Ardsley bowlers.

Even a battling 82 from Louie Hurley was not enough for East Ardsley as they were dismissed for 157 with Lee Hurst taking 3-22 and Michael Hodgkins (3-32).

Hartshead Moor have closed to within a point of leaders Ossett in Division Two’s West Section after defeating them by one wicket.

Nick Ward held his nerve with an unbeaten 57 as they edged past Ossett’s 155-8 despite the efforts of Robert Gledhill (3-36).

Michael Edwards (48) continued his good form for Ossett while Conor Andrews chipped in with 39 not out, but their total was quite big enough to stave off defeat. Adil Ladak picked up 3-23 for Hartshead Moor.

Zulfikar Muhammad made 86 to power Birstall to a seven=wicket win over Hopton Mills. He enabled his side to overhaul Mills’ score of 147-8 in which Andrew Moorhouse made 46.

Opener Kieran Samuels made an unbeaten 104 as he guided Division Two East leaders Townville to a 137-run win at Wrenthorpe. Two sixes and 10 fours flowed from his bat as Townville made 208-7 before skittling their rivals for 71. Opening bowlers Luke Jacques had the fine figures of 3-2 from his eight overs – six of which were maidens.

Sandal remain second despite their seven-run defeat by Altofts. Bradley Barber (4-24) and Jaymes Hollingworth (3-19) ensured Sandal fell just short of Altofts’ 153-9, despite Leighton Shuttleworth making 37.

Opener Peter Jackson (69) and Harry Medcalf (34) were backed up by Tom Berrow (41no) as Spen Victoria overhauled a Buttershaw St Paul’s score of 213-8 to record a four-wicket win in Division Three West.

Matthew Long (77) and Pritesh Lad (33) top scored for St Paul’s while Jonathan Elstub (3-31) was Spen’s most successful bowler.

Spen were also on the wrong end of the result on Sunday when they suffered an eight wicket loss against Crossbank Methodists.

Medcalf (45) and Alex Leadbeater (30) top scored as Spen were bowled out for 150 as Lewis Lockwood took 4-28. Joseph Hampshaw (64no) and skipper Simon Copland (45) eased Crossbank Methodists to their victory target.

Gildersome & Farnley Hill recorded a 34-run win over Adwalton in Division Three Etargasy. Mark Hinchliffe (50) and Mick O’Halloran (34) helped them to 205 despite the efforts of Andrew Blackburn (4-49).

Chris Curtis (45) and Chris Blakeney (34_ led the response but Arshad Mahmood (4-35) ensured they did not deny Gildersome & Farnley Hill victory.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


Bowling Old Lane are the new leaders of the Premier Division after defeating Morley by four...

Cleckheaton beat the weather and defeated Bradford & Bingley by seven wickets to lift themselves...

In today's Boundary Banter programme on BCB Radio co-presenter Paul Davis revealed how he...

View all news »