web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg
All female umpiring team create league history

All female umpiring team create league history

18 Sep 2020

A piece of league history will be created at Sandal on Saturday when the first all-female umpiring team take charge of a final.

Helen McGuire, who officiated at last year's Priestley Shield final beween New Farnley and East Bierley, will be partnered by 15-year-old Emma Lawson for the Second Teams Division Two clash between Sandal and Ossett.

Their appointment is a reward for the consistent contribution they have made this season and is a huge boost at a time when cricket aims to recruit more female umpires.

The full list of umpires selected to handle the League Cup finals are listed below.

(The first named team is the home side)
Pudsey St Lawrence v Townville (Scott Richardson & Nigel Thornton)
Division 1: Birstall v Pudsey Congs (Tony Hamer & Martin Casey)
Division 2: Jer Lane v Sandal (Peter Wheelhouse & David Holland)
Division 3: Altofts v Rodley (Richard Inglis & Peter Langley)

Batley v Bradford & Bingley (Richard Grondowski & Steve Preshaw)
Division 1: Baildon v Pudsey Congs (Michael Apparicio & Steve Harrington)
Division 2: Sandal v Ossett (Helen McGuire & Emma Lawson)
Division 3: Crossbank Methodists v Scholes (Abbas Dadhiwala & Rajesh Verma)
All finals start at Noon