web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Baildon and Birstall claim premier scalps

Baildon and Birstall claim premier scalps


Baildon sprung the biggest upset in the first round of the Gordon Rigg Priestley Shield by beating Premier Division leaders Hanging Heaton.

They triumphed by 29 runs at Jenny Lane after bowling out their opponents for 91 with Stefan Mather (4-29) and Daniel Metcalfe (3-26) doing much of the damage.

Chris Goodair (41) battled hard but could not save Hanging Heaton from defeat as they struggled when replying to the home side’s 120-5. The key contribution for Baildon was the unbeaten 50 made by opener George Barker against an attack in which John Carruthers took 3-17.

The only other Premier Division side to suffer a defeat were Batley who went down by two wickets at Birstall. Batley made 178-5 and Birstall knocked off the runs with eight wickets down. Skipper Lee Peters (61) and Miles Craven (49no) ensured they got home with eight balls to spare despite Umar Mirza taking 3-23. Wicketkeeper Ebrahim Laher (66no) and Haseeb Hashmi (34no) were the top scorers in the Batley innings.

The holders New Farnley eased into the second round with an eight-wicket win over Division Three outfit Spen Victoria.

After bowling out their rivals for 117 with Flynn Barker taking 3-13, openers Andy Langley (57no) and Joe Pyrah (46) steered New Farnley to victory.

The 2018 winners Bowling Old Lane bowled out Keighley for 52 on their way to a nine-wicket triumph. Saad Khan (4-8) and Fahad Khan (4-4) set up the victory.

Veteran Murphy Walwyn made 41 to help East Bierley to a four-wicket win over Bankfoot in the only all Premier Division tie. Walwyn and Liam Walsh (39) ensured their side chased down Bankfoot’s 161-6 despite the efforts of Adam Sayed (3-40).

Mohammed Abbas (61) and Josh Marsden (49) top scored for Bankfoot while Tom Hoyle (3-52) was the best of the East Bierley bowlers.

Another old stager to make an important contribution was Babar Butt. He hit an unbeaten 45 as Congs secured a five-wicket win at Carlton.

The victory was set up by Lewis Gunner who took 5-13 as Carlton were restricted to 114-9. The top scorers for Carlton were Daniel Wilbor (40) and Danny Simpson (30) while their best bowler was Nick Busby (3-14).

Another member of the old guard to make a good score was Buttershaw St Paul’s opener Gary Wainwright. He hit 81 for the Division Three outfit as they made 159 away to Premier Division Lightcliffe.

Fifteen-year-old Tom Burton top scored with 38 as Lightcliffe secured their second-round place with a five-wicket win.

Morley bounced back from being bowled out for just 32 against Pudsey St Lawrence on Saturday by chasing down Bradford & Bingley’s score of 135-9 to win by five wickets.

Michael Darby led the way with 61 as Morley overcame a nervy start against the bowling of George Heartfield (3-25) to ease to their target. Zaid Saleem top scored for the Wagon Laners with 41 and helped them to recover from 37-5. Ben Richardson was the best Morley bowler with 3-25.

Pudsey St Lawrence continued their winning streak with a 66-run win over Northowram Fields. Openers Brian Devine (51) and Jonty Mighell (38) got their side off to a good start while Curtis Hardaker added 33 in a total of 172. Will Parkin took 3-28 for Northowram Fields while Jacob Reeday was their top scorer with33 as they plunged to 106 all out. Adam Frost (3-14) and David Heslop (3-20) did much of the damage.

Woodlands proved too strong for Hartshead Moor as they secured a 62-run win. Josh Griffin made a timely 58 for Woodlands as they posted 165-7 before dismissing the home side for 103.  Nick Ward (3-33) took the bowling honours for Hartshead Moor while Rob Medcalf (3-15) and Kieran Rodger (3-20) impressed for Woodlands.

Division One leaders Great Preston were bowled out for 76 as they suffered an eight-wicket defeat against Farsley. Andrew Sims (4-6) and Kesar Arshad (3-21) were the key bowlers for Farsley while Mohammed Atif hit an unbeaten 44 as they knocked off the runs in 16.4 overs.

Ossett were another side to be bowled out cheaply. They were dismissed by 51 as they went down to a 10-wickes defeat against Jer Lane. Nasir Chowdrey (3-13) and Arslaan Mahmood (3-18) put the skids under Ossett.

Even a defiant 54 from opener Bailey Wilson could not spare Division Three side Rodley from being bowled out for 80 by Cleckheaton. James Ives (3-11) and Kayne Whitehead (3-12) were among the wickets while opener Craig Blackburn (39no) ensures Cleckheaton eased to a seven-wicket win.

Archie Clegg took 4-16 as Methley dismissed Wakefield St Michaels’ for 130 to secure a 55-run win. Laurence Morton (38) top scored for St Michael’s while Zayn Shah took 5-19 when Methley made 185 batting first. Ian Ellis (52) and Vinnie Banks (36) were the best of the home batsmen.

There was a tight finish at Oxford Road where Division Two side Undercliffe gave Premier Division Gomersal a scare before going down by two runs. Daniel Grant (41) top scored in Gomersal’s 156 while Parvaiz Khali (3-3) was the best Undercliffe bowler. The visitors finished on 154-7 with Mohammed Sudase (45), Tom Simmons (45) and Nick Sugden (35) taking their side so close.

The tie between Yeadon and Townville was called off due to a waterlogged pitch and will now be played at Townville on June 13.

The draw for the second round will be published on the league website at 8pm on Monday evening.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


2022-08-09 (1)_edited.jpg

The weather is set fair for the Gordon Rigg Priestley Cup Final this Sunday between New Farnley...


The Bradford & Bingley players celebrate taking a wicket during their Gordon Rigg Bradford...

Nick Connolly.jpg

This preview focuses on the fine individual cricketers who have lit up this season and are...

View all news »