web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Batley edge home in final thriller

Batley edge home in final thriller

Batley held their nerve in a nail-biting finish to win the Gordon Rigg Second Teams Premier League Cup by just one run.

Rivals Bradford & Bingley looked favourites to lift the trophy as they closed in on the home side’s sore of 102 before losing their last three wickets for just two runs.

Vakas Mirza took two of the wickets as he finished with 4-36 and there were joyous scenes when Saqib Talib took the low catch that gave him the final wicket of Craig Cockshott.

Defeat was hard on Bradford & Bingley’s young batsman Matthew Swallow who dominated their innings with 66. It was an indication of how his colleagues struggled that when he was out the score was 75-6.

The Batley innings saw opener Naseem Aslam (47) lead the way while Saqib Ridwan (27no) chipped in with valuable runs towards the end of the innings.

Bradford & Bingley’s young bowler Lachlan Doidge gave an illustration of his developing skills with 4-15.

Premier League Cup winners Batley

The Pudsey Congs second team made it a day of double success for their club as they defeated Baildon by 36 runs in the Division One final at Jenny Lane.

Congs looked to be in trouble when they were reduced to 57-6 after opting to bat first, but Andre Stolarski (48no) and Mark Ferguson (47) revived their side with a stand of 94 which enabled them to post a score of 171-8. Spinner Jamie Abbott (2-19) bowled a tidy eight over spell for Baildon.

The home side were soon struggling in reply with only Haris Hussain (41no) looking at ease as Hassan Butt (4-31) and Josh Chapman (3-7) got to work.

Division One League Cup winners Pudsey Congs

An unbeaten century from Leighton Shuttleworth guided Sandal to a comfortable eight-wicket win over Ossett in the Division Two final.

Shuttleworth batted stylishly for his 103 not out and was joined in a second wicket partnership of 110 by Chris Gibson (41) as Ossett’s score of 181 was overhauled.

Michael Edwards dominated the Ossett innings with 78 while Lee Geldard (3-32) and Safi Rafi (3-32) proved to be the main wicket takers for Sandal.

Division Two League Cup winners Sandal

The appropriately named Dan Winner lived up to his name with 4-14 as Crossbank Methodists bowled out Scholes for 128 to complete an 80-run win over Scholes to lift the Division Three Cup.

Joshua Cresswell-Kellett top scored with 61 for Scholes but lacked support as they replied to the home side’s score of 208.

Joseph Hampshaw (79) and Shazad Riaz (47no) set the tone for the Crossbank innings despite the fine efforts of Muhammad Mahmood (4-20).

Division Three League Cup winners Crossbank Methodists