web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Batley snatch title on dramatic final day

Batley snatch title on dramatic final day

Batley have won Championship One after a dramatic final day which saw both their title rivals suffer defeats.

While they were beating Gomersal by 114 runs, Morley were losing by four runs at Baildon and Bankfoot went down to a four-wicket loss against relegated Wakefield St Michael’s.

Batley, who had lost their previous three games, climbed from third to first place, to regain the premier Division status they lost two years ago.

Their win took them to 254 points and put them two ahead of Morley with Bankfoot a further nine points back.

Opener Sufyan Patel (74) and Adnan Mahmood (65) hit half-centuries as Batley made 208-7 when they batted first.

Batley captain Roheil Hussain shows off the Championship One trophy. Picture: Ray Spencer

Gomersal were never in the hunt as Tariq Hussain (4-23) and Hazalfah Patel (3-20) bowled them out for 91.

Morley, who started the day as leaders. will be kicking themselves after losing their final game at Jenny Lane.

Australian all-rounder Blair Oakley brought his two-year stint at Baildon to a successful end with another match-winning performance.

Oakley top scored with 72 as Baildon made 198 when batting first. Off spinner David Nebard was the pick of the Morley bowlers with 5-24.

Morley lost early wickets but looked to be on course for the win they needed until henry Rush (76) and Harvey Lockwood (35) departed. Oakley (3-37) was the pick of the bowlers as Morley were restricted to 194-9.

Bankfoot saw their hopes of a top-two finish disappeared after they were bowled out for 119 by second-bottom Wakefield St Michael’s. Zaeem Zulfqar was the pick of the bowlers with 3-18.

St Michael’s were guided to victory by their Australian batsman Mitchell Forsyth. He made an unbeaten 50 to stave off the threat posed by spinner Andrew Stothart (3-43).

Despite the win, St Michael’s have been relegated along with Scholes. That’s because East Bierley pulled clear of danger with a stunning nine-wicket win over Keighley.

Rizwan Ali took (5-8) and Umar Farooq (4-11) helped their side bowl out Keighley for just 24. Seven batsmen were dismissed for ducks as Keighley lost their last nine wickets for five runs.

Former Yorkshire and Scotland seamer Iain Wardlaw was Hartshead Moor’s match winner as they defeated bottom team Scholes by five wickets.

He took 5-37 as Scholes were dismissed for 136 and made 45 as his side chased down the Scholes score of 136.

Mohammed Rafiq (67) top scored for Scholes as Wardlaw and spinner Mohammad Khan (3-29) got to work.

Ossett’s strong finish to the season saw them claim fourth place after their three-wicket win over Pudsey Congs. New Zealander Izaiah Lange top scored with 65 as they chased down their opponents’ score of 195.

Mushy Rafique set up the win by taking 6-61, while Jacques Allen (44) and Bilal Butt (43) were the top scorers for Congs.

Championship Two
Carlton rounded off their Championship Two title-winning campaign with an emphatic nine-wicket victory over Bowling Old Lane.

Dominican batsman Kershaski John Lewis ended his first Bradford Premier League campaign with 959 runs after making an unbeaten 36 after Carlton bowled out their visitors for 83.

Left-armer Jonathan Rudge took 4-38 as Bowling Old Lane were dismissed cheaply when they batted first.

Second-placed Birstall bowled out Hunslet Nelson for 47 as they secured a comfortable 103-run win. Saif ur-Rehman (5-26) and James Russell (3-9) did the damage,

Opener Eric Austin (41) and skipper Nick Kaye (30) helped Birstall to 150 despite the efforts of Danny Cross (3-34) and Will Stiff (3-37).

Altofts will be relegated along with Liversedge and Adwalton after suffering an eight-wicket defeat against Northowram Fields.

Hammy Shahzad impressed with 6-30 as Altofts were skittled out for 91. Skipper Dru Patel’s unbeaten 43 saw Northowram Fields safely to their target.

Jer Lane’s overseas fast bowler Hazrat Shah took a stunning 7-7 as his side bowled out Adwalton to secure a 74-run win. Amjid Khan picked up the remaining three wickets at a cost of 34 runs.

Ghulam Hussain (5-15) and Will Cutt (3-13) had combined earlier to restrict Jer Lane to 155. Khan was the top scorer with 34 not out.

Spen Victoria clinched fourth place after defeating bottom team Liversedge by 57 runs. Abid Awain impressed with 6-31 as Spen bowled out their rivals for 116,

Opener Sam Gatenby (57) and Liam Grant (32) led the way for Spen against a bowling attack led by Will Atkin (3-30) and Dave Winn (3-32).

East Ardsley secured fifth place after defeating Jack Hampshire Cuyp winners Yeadon by 60 runs. Peter Bowles took 4-27 as they dismissed Yeadon for 114, Sarmad Hammed (45) and Tom Lindsay (35) top scoring.

Louie Hurley’s knock of 70 helped East Ardsley to 174-7 when they batted first. The pick of the bowlers was James Massheder with 3-45.

Michael Carroll (6-59) and Ashley Mackereth (4-40) impressed as Hopton Mills bowled out Buttershaw St Paul’s for 101 before easing to an eight-wicket win. Chris Scott was unbeaten on 46 when they reached their target.


Tyson Freeman rounded off a knockout first season with Great Preston by scoring his fifth century as they defeated East Leeds by 94 runs.

Freeman struck a six and 21 fours as he scored 115 to take his aggregate of runs to 926 with another fine knock.

The Australian helped his side to 290-9, despite the efforts of Tom Chapman (5-71) and James Watling (3-77).

Ben Wilkinson scored 53 and James Watling (33) in the East Leeds reply of 196. Callum Jordan (4-45) and Jacob Wright (4-94) sealed victory for Great Preston.

Crossbank Methodists ended up with the wooden spoon after their eight-wicket defeat by Rodley sentenced them to finishing bottom.

Dave Myers Charles took 7-23 as they were dismissed for 92. Gary Sagar’s unbeaten 50 saw Rodley ease to their target.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow finished five points ahead of Crossbank Methodists by virtue of the six bonus points they earned in their six-wicket defeat by Windhill & Daisy Hill.

Paul Cooper rounded off his season with an unbeaten 115, one six and 21 fours, as Heckmondwike & Carlinghow made 211-8.

Tabassum Bhatti took 4-54 before hitting 51 as he and Matthew Marshall (57) guided their side to victory.

Brighouse’s Ahmad Hussain returned the day’s best bowling figures of 8-66 in his side’s 12-run defeat by third-placed Gildersome and Farnley Hill.

Martin Morley (52) and Michael O’Halloran (44) helped Gildersome to 169, while Ben Clay took 3-6 as Brighouse, despite the efforts of Mohammed Altaf (46) and Tanvir Bashir (46) were bowled out for 157.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


Bowling Old Lane are the new leaders of the Premier Division after defeating Morley by four...

Cleckheaton beat the weather and defeated Bradford & Bingley by seven wickets to lift themselves...

In today's Boundary Banter programme on BCB Radio co-presenter Paul Davis revealed how he...

View all news »