web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Brian Pearson wins league's top accolade

Brian Pearson wins league's top accolade

Brian Pearson, the driving force behind Woodlands' amazing success story, has become the latest recipient of the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy.

During his 46 years with the club he has guided them on a journey that has led them from the Bradford Central League, via the Central Yorkshire League to becoming the dominant force in the  Gordon Rigg Bradford Premier League.

Pearson has been secretary of Woodlands since 1999 and before that served as chairman for three years during which time he oversaw the project which resulted in the building of the clubhouse, changing rooms and scorebox.

Under his guidance the club has continued to upgrade the facilities at Albert Terrace with the square being relaid in 2015 and the outfield in 2020, while the outdoor nets were constructed in 2011. The club is currenlty engaged in a project to improve its bar and kitchen.

But it is on the field where Woodlands have made the biggest impact. Pearson's shrewd recruitment has seen the club enjoy untold success since joining the league in 2001.

After winning Division Two in their first season, they have remained in the top division ever since. During that time they have won nine league titles, four Priestley Cups, three Heavy Woollen Cups, two Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophies and one Yorkshire Premier League Championship.

Their second team have also enjoyed great success winning their league title and the Priestley Shield four times each and the Crowther Cup on three occasions.

Pearson's efforts led to him being made an MBE in the New Year’s Honours List in 2009 for services to the Civil Service and the local community – he was invested by the Queen on June 2, 2009.

In the citation read out before the presentation it noted which was made at the league's annual dinner at The Queens, Leeds, said: "As the years have gone by and volunteers have become fewer and fewer the list of jobs which Brian undertakes has grown so that he might be found running the bar or scoring or umpiring for either senior of junior teams, cleaning out the changing rooms or tidying up the clubhouse as well as running the Sports Hall in addition to his extensive secretarial duties. 

"He truly is Mr Woodlands and there is no doubt that without his input in so many ways Woodlands would not be the club it is today and would not have achieved the success it has consistently enjoyed over so many years."

Brad Schmulian, the charismatic all-rounder who led Woodlands to the treble of league title, T20 Cup and Yorkshire Premier League Championship triumphs in 2022, sent a conglatulatory message from New Zealand where he scored 200 not out for Central Stags against Northern Districts recently in the Plunket Shield.

He said: ": “I am sure I speak on behalf of everyone at Woodlands CC and within the Bradford League that it is no surprise that Brian Pearson is receiving this award.

“His unwaning dedication and passion to cricket is something that I have not witnessed before. He is a tremendous asset to the Bradford League and his beloved Woodlands. In my three seasons at Woodlands, I have seen him perform every job you can think of apart from getting the whites on himself

“Congratulations Brian on your award and thank you for your decades of dedication.”Schmulian was delighted to learn that he had won the league's Sir Learie Constantine All Rounder of the Year said: "I am honoured to be receiving those awards."

The Unsung Hero Award was won by Heckmondwike & Carlinghow's chairman Brian Cooper. He has  served the club as player, groundsman, secretary and treasure during almost 50 years. 

Cooper has also served as an umpire for 25 years, first in the Huddersfield Central League, and then the Bradford Premier League. 

View picture gallery of David Gower at the dinner
View picture gallery of David Young presenting league awards and pictures of guests

Award winners 2022z 
Premier Division
Nick Connolly (Ossett) 1,207 runs average 75.4
Bowling: Gurman Randhawa (New Farnley) 54 wickets average 12.63
Wicketkeeping: Dan Hodgson (New Farnley) 37 victims (31ct 6st)
Division One
Yohan Mendis (Pudsey Congs) 900 runs average 69.23
Bowling: Nisar Ahmad (East Bierley) 50 wickets average 14.26
Wicketkeeping: Josh Bennett (Pudsey Congs) 28 victims (22ct 6st)
Division Two
Kyle Welsh (Northowram Fields) 1,167 runs average 72.84
Bowling: Adeel Ashraf (Yeadon) 56 wickets average 15.43
Wicketkeeping: Pasindu Thirimadura (Yeadon) 43 victims (33ct 10st)
Division Three
Shoaib Rehman (Liversedge) 384 runs average 42.67
Bowling: Jordan Edmondson (Gildersome & Farnley Hill) 50 wickets average 11.45
Wicketkeeping: Jordan Carter (Altofts) 30 victims (25ct 5st)
Second Teams
Premier Division
Adnan Mahmood (Jer Lane) 989 runs average 65.93
Bowling: Jack Dyson (New Farnley) 27 wickets average 12.08
Wicketkeeping: Craig Russell (Hanging Heaton) 43 victims (32ct 11st)
Division One
Kieran Samuels (Townville) 879 runs average 62.79
Bowling: Reece Cockshott (Bradford & Bingley) 54 wickets average 11.59
Wicketkeeping: Finn Brookes (Lightcliffe) 30 victims (28ct 2st)
Division Two
Ian Shuttleworth (Sandal) 446 runs average 55.75
Bowling: Zafar Mahmood (Brighouse79 wickets average 8.14
Wicketkeeping: James Glover (Hopton Mills) 16 victims (12ct 4st)
Division Three
Tomhas Hendry (Hunslet Nelson) 775 runs average 110.71
Bowling: Patrick Green (Wrenthorpe) 37 wickets average 8.72
Wicketkeeping: Thomas Hendry (Hunslet Nelson) 28 victims (20ct 8st)
Highest score: Matt Donohoe (Adwalton) 190no
Best opening stand: Matt Donohoe & Will Cutt (Adwalton) 304 
Most Runs: Nick Connolly (Ossett) 1,207
Most Wickets: Parvaise Khan (Liversedge) 68
Most Stumpings: Luke Heinemann (Pudsey St Lawrence) 13
Fastest Fifty: Connor Harvey (Townville) 16 balls
Most Sixes: Umar Abbas (Hopton Mills) 59
Most Second Team Stumpings: John Crowther (Gildersome & Farnley Hill) 14
Sir Learie Constantine Premier Division All-rounder: Brad Schmulian (Woodlands)
Jack Hill All Rounder for all other divisions: Farrouk Alam (Carlton)
Ernest Lodge Young Spinner of the Year: Sam Wisniewski (Pudsey Congs)
David Bairstow Young Wicketkeeper of the Year: Joshua Bennett (Pudsey Congs)
Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year: Alex Cree (Methley)
Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award: Adwalton
Tom Mathers Ground of the Year: Morley
Player of the Year: Brad Schmulian (Woodlands)
Unsung Hero: Brian Cooper (Heckmondwike & Carlinghow)
Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy: Brian Pearson (Woodlands)

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


Gharib Nawaz.jpg

This is the time of year when some clubs are keeping their cards close to their chests over...

Brian Atkinson_edited.jpg

Cricketers and officials from across the league have been paying tribute to popular umpire...

Kershaski John Lewis.jpg

Undercliffe have underlined their desire to push for promotion to the Premier...

View all news »