First Teams Review September 16

First Teams Review September 16

Scholes captain James Stansfield lifted the Championship One trophy after his side defeated Wrenthorpe by three wickets to secure the title.

Methley claimed second place and promotion to the Premier Division after a nine-wicket win over Baildon.

Opener Shoukat Ali, one of the key figures in Scholes' success this season, steered them to victory with an unbeaten 78 as they overhauled the Wrenthorpe score of 156-9.

He stood firm after his side were reduced to 17-3 and ensured that Scholes finished top of the pile after leading for much of the season.

Ali struck two sixes and 12 fours as Jonathan Rudge (5-49) tried his hardest to keep alive Wrenthorpe's promotion challenge.

Yasir Ali chipped in with a valuable 36 to back up his early efforts with the ball. Ali took 3-45 and Andrew Robinson (3-40) as Wrenthorpe were made to struggle for runs.

They plunged to 74-7 before Rudge (36no) and Matt Holstein (25) gave the score a boost, but 156-9 didn't prove enough as Scholes recovered from their poor start to win with 14.5 overs to spare.

Methley showed no mercy for a weakened Baildon side as they bowled them out for just 54 to set up the victory which enabled them to finish runners up.

Off spinner Eddie Walmsley was the star turn with 7-22 while twin brother Marcus took 3-19 as Baildon were skittle out. Marcus Walmsley and Jordan Laban were both unbeaten on 22 when victory was achieved.

Undercliffe claimed fourth place after defeating Morley by six-wickets at Intake Road. Opener Colin Nuthall made a battling 51 for Morley, but his colleagues were unable to break the shackles placed on them by the accurate home attack.

Debut-making Bradley Gerrard-Harrison made an unbeaten 30, but a total of 156-5 proved to be below par as Undercliffe eased to their target. Opener Jack Holland (44) and Gulsheraz Ahmed (32) led the way as victory was achieved with 10.4 overs to spare.

At the opposite end of the table their was frustration for Bowling Old Lane as they defeated Ossett by 17 runs in their final game but finished in the bottom two by a solitary point.

Ossett survived by virtue of denying Old Lane the two extra wickets they needed. If the teams had finished level on points, Ossett would have been relegated as Old Lane had one more win.

Old Lane certainly gave their rivals a scare. After being bowled out for 105 as Maaiz Khan (5-28) and Paul Malone (3-15) impressed, they hit back with the ball.

Opener Richard Whitehurst (47) was the only Ossett batsman to make a real impression as Sadaqat Zaman (4-23) posed problems, but Old Lane were just fell short of their survival objective.

Yeadon, who have flirted with relegation, also ended on a winning note as they defeated bottom team Birstall by two wickets. Ryan Heptinstall made a crucial 45 as they edged past their opponents' score of 136.

Saif ur Rehman (5-28) and Charlie Orme (3-29) were the pick of the bowlers for Birstall, while Craig Wood (39) and Eric Austin (31) were the chief contributors with the bat. James Massheder was Yeadon's most-successful bowler with 3-25.

The match between Bankfoot and Gomersal was abandoned without a ball being bowled,

Championship Two

Hunslet Nelson claimed the second promotion spot in Championship Two with a 52-run win over Northowram Fields.

Patrick Hinchliffe took 4-34 and Rakesh Seecharan (3-21) as Nelson bowled out their opponents for 101 to secure victory.

Chris Metcalf (32) top scored for Northowram Fields who finished in fourth position.

Opener Jack Scanlon had set the tone for Nelson's performance with a patient innings of 54 which helped them to a total of 153.

Zafar Khan (3-39) and Shakeel Mahmood (3-34) were the best of the Northowram Fields bowlers.

Champions Hartshead Moor rounded off their season by recording their 19th win in 22 games.

Opening batsman Mohammad Khan made 125 not out and passed 1,000 runs for the campaign in the five-wicket victory over Hopton Mills.

It was Khan's third league century and saw him hit six sixes and 14 fours.

Ahsan Butt made 53 and gave good support to Khan as Hartshead Moor overhauled the Hopton Mills total of 212-6 with 12.3 overs to spare.

Paul Moorhouse led the way in the Mills innings with 68 not out, while Mark Ashton made 42 and Chris Scott (31). Iain Wardlaw was again the pick of the bowlers with 3-28.

Spinners Tosh Baker (4-22) and Ben Platt (4-58) helped Buttershaw St Paul's to end the season with a 40-run win over third-placed Altofts.

Altofts looked to be well placed to chase down Buttershaw St Paul's score of 204-7 until Kristian Miller (72) and Farroukh Alam (53) were both dismissed by left-armer Platt.

Once their third-wicket stand of 110 was broken the innings lost its way and Altofts were all out for 164.

Opener Jonathan Burston (72) and Jamie Robson (47) led the way with the top contributions to the St Paul's score. Alam (4-43) was again the best of the home bowlers.

Ollie Davison ended a difficult season on a high by smashing a career best 132 not out as bottom team Spen Victoria defeated Carlton by 154 runs.

Davison, who recently relinquished the captaincy, hit nine sixes and five fours and shared a third-wicket stand of 140 with opener Peter Jackson who made a fine 75.

Jonathan Thurwell (3-86) was the only successful Carlton bowler as Spen Victoria made 267-3. Nick Busby top scored with 39 as Carlton were bowled out for 113.

The match between Keighley and Liversedge was abandoned without a ball being bowled while no scores have been submitted for Idle v Brighouse.

                            East Ardsley skipper Tom Daniels


East Ardsley were celebrating after winning the championship decider with Wakefield St Michael's by three wickets.

They were indebted to Haseen Bashir for guiding them to victory with an unbeaten 83.

He struck four sixes and five fours and was supported by Ashley Pearson (36) as East Ardsley recovered from 7-3 to pass St Michael's total of 171-6 with 6.5 overs to spare.

Joe Finnigan did his best to keep St Michael's in the hunt with an impressive spell of 6-40, but Bashir held his nerve to get his side home.

The St Michael's innings had been dominated by the Atkinson brothers Mark (62) and Richard (55no) against some economical bowling from East Ardsley.

The result saw East Ardsley pip their rivals by two points for the title, 

Adwalton ended the season with an 85-run win over Rodley.

Joshua Barnett and Vinit Patel led the way with 47 each while Chris Priestley (42) and Gary Lewsley (31) helped swell the Adwalton total to 257-8. The persevering Ryan Callis picked up 5-71 for Rodley.

Callis continued his good work by top scoring with 58 in the Rodley reply of 172. Opener Bailey Wilson's 39 was the only other score of note as Andrew Stolzenberg wrapped up victory for Adwalton with 3-5.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow looked to be heading for victory before rain brought an early end to their match with Windhill & Daisy Hill.

Matthew Crowther 966no) and Paul Cooper (51) hit half-centuries as Heckmondwike & Carlinghow compiled a total of 244-9.

Veteran Maz Bhatti (4-57) and Milan Patel (4-50) were the two best bowlers for Windhill & Daisy Hill.

The Windhill & Daisy Hill reply was faltering at 87-6 when play was halted 17 overs early.

Gildersome rounded off their programme with an encouraging 45-run win over Azaad.

Shoaib Rehman's 34 was the top score in Gildersome's total of 173 as they were confronted by some good bowling from Riffat Kiani (6-46).

Imran Mahboob made 51 from Azaad but his side were all out for 128 as Liam Pearson took 3-18.

Crossbank Methodists saw their match with Sandal abandoned when the contest was evenly poised.

Adam Holroyd (34) top scored in Crossbank's 128 all out as Amjid Sadiq (4-27) and Sam Noden (3-49) shared the bowling honours. Sandal were 36-3 when play ended.

No details have been submitted for Oulton v Great Preston.

Pictures: Ray Spencer