web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Flashback to 2011: Woodlands win fifth title, Pudsey St Lawrence lift Priestley Cup and Wrenthorpe do CYCL double

Flashback to 2011: Woodlands win fifth title, Pudsey St Lawrence lift Priestley Cup and Wrenthorpe do CYCL  double

The familiar name of Woodlands was engraved on the First Division trophy for the fifth time as they finished 34-points in front of second place Farsley in their first season under the leadership of Pieter Swanepoel.

The start of the season didn’t exactly inspire confidence at Albert Terrace, but after the batting had settled down, it was plain sailing. 

Simon Mason, left, had been recruited from York and after a slow start he eventually made 768 runs and a top league score of 163 not out.

Scott Richardson Snr enjoyed his best season at Woodlands scoring 1,010 league runs, and getting his side off to rapid starts with his special brand of powerful driving.

The bowling was as potent as ever with the formidable trio of Sarfraz Ahmed (43 wkts), Pieter Swanepoel (60 wkts) and Chris Brice (54 wkts) all making hay.

This trio occupied three of the top four places in the league’s bowling averages with Ahmed leading the way at the top.  Ahmed also made 431 runs with the bat which included many entertaining knocks in a season when he claimed the league’s fastest fifty in 16 balls.

Farsley might have missed out on the title, but they had the virtuoso player in the league in Lorenzo Ingram. He scored 1,140 runs with the bat, and also took 50 wickets with his immaculate spin bowling.

Some spectators thought he was the best fielder they had seen in local league cricket. His election as the Sir Learie Constantine All Rounders Trophy winner for 2011 was no contest.

Another high achiever at Red Lane was Joe Greaves who scored 1,019 league runs, and was also awarded the `best fielder’ prize.

Other batsmen scoring a thousand runs were Chris Taylor, Suleman Khan and Fahid Rehman who all reached that milestone in the second division.

Taylor topped the league batting list with an astonishing average of 95.77.

Although St Lawrence could not break the Pudsey Congs/Woodlands monopoly in the league, they won silverware in 2011 in the shape of the Priestley Cup under skipper James Smith. They comfortably chased down an East Bierley Cup Final total of 243-7 at Wagon Lane on the reserve day.

Robertshaw’s innings set the scene for the 5 wicket victory and saw him deservedly win the Man of the Match Award.

James Smith with the Priestley Cup after their final win over East Bierley

During the same season St Lawrence broke the league record for the sixth wicket when Chris Marsden (150) and Jordan Thompson (68) put on 214 against Hanging Heaton.

Morley got promoted in 2012, but they certainly laid the foundation in 2011 when they finished in fourth place in the old Second Division.

They had an overseas player in Kashif Naveed, right, who could do it with both bat and the ball. He scored 930 runs at 48.95 and also took 67 wickets; such was his value to the side.

Matthew Baxter scored 588 runs, while David Nebard (49 wkts) and Nathan Bromby (42 wkts) took the bowling honours.

Suleman Khan of Great Horton took the Jack Hill All-Rounders prize after having a cracking season at Ewart Street. He scored 1,208 runs at 54.91 and also took 62 wickets.

In the Central Yorkshire League, Wrenthorpe were at their zenith and won 20 league matches out of twenty-two. Many informed observers regarded this as probably the best Wrenthorpe side of all, and the eleven was-

Gary Fellows (Capt), Eric Austin, David Paynter, Oliver Whittaker, Greig Batty, Luke Patel, Bradley Parker, Joe Ellis, Neil Gill, Tom Glover, Jonathan Smith.

It was Paynter’s,above left)  greatest season, winning the League’s All Rounders Trophy for the second time with 850 runs at 50.00, and 41 wickets at 12.61, while Fellows amassed 753 runs at 44.29.

 Batty won the league bowling averages with 39 wickets at 12.92, supported well by Ellis (30 wkts) and Glover (27 wkts).

They completed the double by winning the Jack Hampshire Memorial Cup for the third time in six years by beating Townville in the final.

They didn’t have it all their way and struggled a bit when they took first knock. However, Fellows, battled away to reach 110 with scant support, and only a late unbeaten 39 by Batty took the score to a respectable 213-9.

The total was not a convincing one, but when Patel (4-36) got to work with his spin, the result was never in doubt and Townville collapsed to 157 all-out.

-Strangely enough, the Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy would elude Wrenthorpe, as they lost to Whitley Hall in successive finals in 2011 and 2012.














Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



Morley have taken over at the top of the Premier Division after defeating bottom team Bankfoot by...

Tom Clee_edited.jpg

It has been a doubly successful Bank Holiday for Woodlands, New Farnley Townville and Pudsey St...

BJCL U13 2023.jpg

It was a winning double in the Bank Holiday Monday sunshine as both our teams had convincing...

View all news »