web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Hanging Heaton are crowned as champions

Hanging Heaton are crowned as champions

Hanging Heaton clinched the Second Teams Premier Division crown with a hard-earned final day win over neighbours Batley.

Danny Clifton (68) and Nick Bresnan (41) helped Hanging Heaton to 233-8. Batley, in need of points to stave off relegation, replied with 220-8 and the four batting points they earned kept them up.

Vakas Mirza (71) and Umar Mirza (63) ensured that Batley finished on 176 points, four ahead of Baildon, who were relegated despite securing a 69-run win over Morley in their final game.

But the story of the day was how Hanging Heaton finally prevailed in the title battle where they finished on 319 points, 12 ahead of New Farnley and 27 in front of last season’s champions Woodlands.

New Farnley’s Will Swift took 6-49 as they restricted Yeadon to 175-9. Kieran Hanogue made an unbeaten 50 while Antony Gilks scored 36.

Opener Joe Suggitt continues his good form with 46 but it was Tom Lilley (51) who powered his side towards victory.

Woodlands, who knew they needed their rivals to slip up if they were to have any chance of retaining their crown, suffered a six-wicket defeat by East Bierley.

Tom Hoyle (60no) and Rob Barker (51) shared a fourth-wicket stand of 107 as East Bierley chase down a Woodlands score of 180-8 in which Rob Medcalf made 52 and Tom Clee (45).

Baildon made a great attempt to save themselves from relegation after just one season, but at least they bowed out with a win.

Shahid Bhatti (56) and Darren Wilson (51) powered them to 219-9 at Morley, despite Richard Winn taking 4-40.

Morley, who have tailed off in the closing weeks of the season, still finished fourth after being bowled out for 150. Michael Darby (30) top scored against a bowling attack in which Sam Kelly (4-34) and Adnan Sayed (3-24) were the key members.

The day’s quickest winners were Pudsey St Lawrence. They skittled out Lightcliffe for 47 before racing to a mime-wicket win. The 18 extras conceded by Saints were the chief contribution to the sorry Lightcliffe score. Adam Frost (4-10) and Jordan Moore (4-16) were the best of the bowlers.

All 11 players bowled for Bowling Old Lane as they rounded off their campaign with a 63-run win over rock-bottom Pudsey Congs.

Ahasan Alishan (67), Rashid Ramzan (59), Faizan Haider (45) and Umar Zabir (42no) helped Old Lane to make 287. That total enabled them to ring the changes when they bowled, and they still managed to dismiss Congs for 224. Josh Chapman (69) top scored while Alishan (4-38) was the pick of the varied Old Lane attack.

Championship Two

Liversedge staved off the threat of relegation with a six-wicket win over Oulton who are also safe thanks to the bonus points they earned.

Brighouse, who have had 55 points deducted for various breaches of league rules, Scholes and Spen Victoria are now confirmed in the three relegation positions.

Liversedge owed their win to a knock of 77 from the experienced Jonny Trevitt. David Winn (40) and Alan Sumner (31no) backed him up as Oulton’s scored of 200-8 was overhauled.

Jonathan France top scored with 77 for Oulton, while Mark Goodall (5-60) was Liversedge’s most-successful bowler.

Hanging Heaton are the new Second Teams Premier Division champions Picture: Ray Spencer

Top picture: Hanging Heaton skipper Steve Bourne with the championship trophy. Picture: Ray Spencer

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


The League are now running an Under 10 Representative Side this year. Fixtures are being...

With the positive news from the UK Government confirming England progressing to Step 3...

When Paul Davis co-presents the weekly Gordon Rigg Bradford Premier League podcast there is one...

View all news »