web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Jack Hampshire Cup takes centre stage

Jack Hampshire Cup takes centre stage



Reg Nelson takes a look at the prospects for Sunday's eight Gordon Rigg Jack Hampshire Cup second round ties.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow v Jer Lane

Jer Lane could well be favourites to win the cup given their start to their league campaign and their assortment of quick scoring batsmen.

Normally Jer Lane’s Osama Ahmad bats as a tail-ender, but in the previous round he seized an opportunity to open the batting. He blasted a stunning century as Jer Lane recorded a 166-run over Scholes.

Ahmad, who had only scored 21 runs in his previous knocks in the league, hit 18 sixes and three fours as he powered his way to 139 from just 78 balls.

After reaching his 50 from 40 balls, Ahmed took just 16 more to go to his century. When he was eventually out – the first time he has been dismissed this season – 120 of his runs had come in boundaries.

He dominated a second wicket stand of 104 with Abubakar Dawood (35) before adding 100 for the fourth wicket with skipper Raqeeb Younis who went on to make 71, as Jer Lane posted a daunting 319-7 in their 40 overs.

Scholes were dismissed for 153 as Bobby Khan took 3-5 and veteran Amjid Khan 3-37.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow will have to hope their overseas batter Usman Qureshi upsets the odds in this tie.

East Ardsley v Sandal

East Ardsley might be the slight favourites in this one, but Sandal are proven cup fighters.

In the First Round, Sandal made no mistake at Liversedge and bowled them out for 112 in 29.4 overs. Paceman Sam Noden was the pick of the bowlers with 3-22.

When rain reduced Sandal’s innings to 10 overs, they had reached 68-0, and had comfortably exceeded Liversedge’s 42-3 on a comparison of scores. Danny Riley was set on 38 not out and so was Karl Hewitt who was unbeaten on 29.

East Ardsley, who got a bye though to this round, have the form batsman in Josh Wild and went to the top of Division Two last week.

Buttershaw St Paul’s v Spen Victoria

Buttershaw St Paul’s could well go far in this competition with their mix of explosive batsmen, and penetrative bowling. In the First Round they took care of Hunslet Nelson to the tune of 63-runs.

However, it wasn’t all plain sailing as St Paul’s initially struggled with the bat and it was 15-2 at one stage.  Jamie Robson led the revival with a crucial innings of 50, while skipper James Sawyer added a vital 35 to ensure his side reached a par score of 178-9.

Hunslet Nelson didn’t really look like getting these runs with Kamran Siddique proving too good for them with 5-24. Spen Victoria, who got a bye to this stage, will have to pull out all the stops to progress further. They have depended heavily on the batting of skipper Bilal Ejaz and the bowling of Abdi Awain but will be boosted by their first win of the season against Scholes last week.

Yeadon v Adwalton

Yeadon’s early league form this season suggests that they may be the victims of a cup shock, but the 2019 winners should have too much for Adwalton on their own big field.

Muhammad Khan, Gulsheraz Ahmed, Gareth Lee and Andrew Robinson are all `big’ players for Yeadon, and Adwalton will have trouble containing them.

Adwalton have shown some impressive form in patches in the Division Three, and have proved to be capable of making big scores. Their form players are Matthew Donohoe, Matty Waller and Chris Priestley


Crossflatts v Rodley

Crossflatts will fancy a shot at the Jack Hampshire Cup after being regular winners of the Wynn Cup in the Craven League.

They have proved themselves to be quite a force in their first season, and although it’s been a team effort, the performances by Mohammad Shahnawaz, above, have been impressive. Not only has he been the leading wicket-taker in the entire division, but he has also chipped in with the bat.

Rodley will have to be on their best game to win this tie, and a lot of the responsibility will be on the shoulders of Robert Young and Bailey Wilson.

Hopton Mills v Great Preston

Hopton Mills, who play Great Preston, had a difficult tie at Brighouse who were flying in the Third Division.

However, they prevailed with a gritty performance despite being restricted to 135-9. After being in big trouble at 9-3, Chris Scott (35) and Gary Senior (33no) dug their team out of trouble. Brighouse could not cope with Sohail Hussain who took 5-17 as they slumped to 93 all out.

Great Preston might be in a lower division than Hopton Mills, but they have a side built for cup cricket. In the previous round they piled up a score of 301-9 on their way to an impressive 161-run win over Crossbank Methodists, with Jacob Wright (92 runs), Richard White (52 runs) and Dan Ranasinghe (50 runs) leading the way.

East Leeds v Bowling Old Lane

When Bowling Old Lane beat Keighley by six wickets in the 2018 Jack Hampshire Cup Final, it was thought it might have sparked a great renaissance at the club. Instead, it proved to be a false dawn.

But, they remain a dangerous side in `one-off’ competition and East Leeds will do well to pull off a shock.

East Leeds defeated Windhill & Daisy Hill last Sunday by 38 runs. Kirti Tandel (61), Dean Atkinson (58) and James Watling (36) all contributed well in successfully chasing the 218-8 target. Ben Wilkinson (pictured above, 4-38) was the best of the East Leeds bowlers. 

Northowram Fields v Gildersome & Farnley Hill

Northowram Fields are probably the favourites in this tie, given their higher league ranking, but Gildersome & Farnley Hill have proved they can upset the applecart.

Last Sunday they claimed their place in the second round line up after scoring a surprise six-wicket win over Wakefield St Michael's in their delayed first round tie.

The Division Three outfit bowled out St Michael's – who were second in Division Two - for just 68 with Jordan Edmondson taking 4-25 and James Coulbourn (4-52).

Joss Sturgess was unbeaten on 36 when Gildersome & Farnley Hill sealed their victory.


East Ardsley



Heckmondwike & Carlinghow


Jer Lane 

East Leeds


Bowling Old Lane

Northowram Fields


Gildersome & Farnley Hill

Buttershaw St Paul’s


Spen Victoria

Hopton Mills


Great Preston







Jack Hampshire Winners

2016 Ossett 230-7 Buttershaw St Paul's 93
2017 Hartshead Moor 227-2 Wakefield St Michael’s 206-7

2018 Keighley 202-8 Bowling Old Lane 203-4
2019 Birstal 132 Yeadon 136-8
2020 No competition due to Coronavirus

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


Sam Frankland, above, produced a stylish display of batting as Champions Woodlands...

Woodlands v Methley Woodlands v Methley is probably the `go to’ tie for the...

Lightcliffe chairman Bob Horne pays a personal tribute to the popular former Bradford...

View all news »