web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Jer Lane beat Sandal to lift T20 Cup

Jer Lane beat Sandal to lift T20 Cup


Jer Lane have won the Gordon Rigg T20 Group B Cup for the second time after defeating Sandal by four wickets in a hard-fought final at Carlton

The experienced Imran Mirza (27no) saw them home with 13 balls to spare after Amjid Sadiq had raised Sandal's hopes with 4-7 as Jer Lane's nerves began to jangle.

In the final analysis, Sandal's score of 108-9 was below par and they did not help their cause by conceding 22 wides.

It was to Sandal's credit that they pulled themselves back into contention after Jer Lane had scored 38 from the first two overs.

Sharp fielding provided good support for the bowlers with Sadiq the outstanding performer as Sandal refused to throw in the towel.

But in the end they didn't have a big enough score to defend and finished runners up in the competition for the third time in five seasons.

Farakh Hussain hits out during his 49-ball century Picture: Ray Spencer

The highlight of the day as the 49-ball century from Jer Lane opener Farakh Hussain which set up their 91-run semi-final win over Heckmondwike & Carlinghow in the first match of the day.

Hussain, who recently hit a 39-ball century in the league against Hopton Mills, hit 12 sixes and seven fours while making 125 as Jer Lane scored 207-5 after being put in to bat. Skipper Raqeeb Younus (30) was the next highest scorer.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow made 116-9 in reply as Mohammed Jamal took 3-32 to help secure Jer Lane's place in the final.

Jer Lane celebrate their victory in the final Picture: Ray Spencer

Final scorecard
Semi-final scorecard


Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



Hartshead Moor defeated a Bradford League Legends XI in a fund-raising T20 clash at Highmoor Lane...

Jack Hampshire Cup.jpg

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow, the only remaining Division Three side in the Gordon Rigg Jack...


Holders New Farnley secured their place in the final of the Solly Sports Heavy Woollen Cup with a...

View all news »