web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Jer Lane cut down Woodlands

Jer Lane cut down Woodlands



Jer Lane marked their debut in the Gordon Rigg T20 Group A Cup by inflicting an eight-wicket defeat on last year’s beaten finalists Woodlands.

The winners of last year’s Group B Cup underlined their determination to make an impact in the senior competition by restricting Woodlands to 103-8. They followed up their fine bowling effort by knocking ff the runs with 3.2 overs to spare, opener Abubakar Dawood hitting an unbeaten 60.

In the night’s other Pool Three games there were wins for Bankfoot and Bradford & Bingley. Hisan Ahmad (76) and Hamzah Iqbal (60no) enabled Bankfoot to post a score of 202-5 against Baildon. Spinner Ben Grimmitt (3-6) was the pick of the bowlers for the Jenny Laners.

Seif Hussain (3-21) helped Bankfoot bowl out his old club for 93 to complete a comfortable 109-run win.

England Under-19 batsman Will Luxton (60no) and Australian Corey Miller (56no) featured in an unbroken second wicket stand of 123 which powered Bradford & Bingley to a nine-wicket win over Keighley.

Billy Whitford (34) and Noah McFadyen (33) proved to be the top scorers in Keighley’s 122-7 as Reece Cockshott (3-12) and Miller (3-18) bowled well for Bradford & Bingley.

Holders Hanging Heaton took another step towards qualification for the semi-finals with a 58-run win at Carlton.

David Stiff’s unbeaten 51 from 30 balls and Shahban Raheem’s knock of 45 enabled Hanging Heaton to make 179-6 despite the efforts of Kieron Holliday (3-27).

Daniel Ford made 31 but his colleagues struggled as Carlton were restricted to 121-6, Tom Lindsay taking 3-18.

A second wickets stand of 148 between Alex Cree (81) and Yorkshire’s Matthew Waite (61) powered Methley to a total of 198-3 as they defeated Townville by 22 runs.

Alex Page (73) and Conor Harvey (67) shared a fourth wicket partnership of 105 for Townville, but once they were departed Finlay Rooke (3-20) helped restrict them to a total of 176-7.

Morley, winners of the competition in 2013, launched their campaign with a comprehensive eight-wicket win over Batley/

Sri Lankan Kavindu Kulasekara took 4-13 as Batley, despite 41 from Yasir Ali, were bowled out for 136. Liam Thomas (46) got the Morley reply going before Kulasekara saw them home with an unbeaten 53.

New Farnley bowled out Birstall for 70 with Steve Bullen taking 3-2 before racing to their victory target for the loss of just two wickets.

There were mixed fortunes for the two Pudsey clubs, St Lawrence went down to a 59-run defeat at East Bierley while Congs had an impressive nine-wicket win over Farsley.

Impressive Sri Lankan batsman Yohan Mendis again caught the eye with an unbeaten 58 as Congs chased down a Farsley total of 119-5 with 3.2 overs to spare. Opener Jack Timby (70no_ dominated the Farsley innings.

Andrew Duckworth (41no) and Sam Gatenby (40) helped East Bierley to post 173-4 before dismissing St Lawrence for 114.Adam Frost was the Saints@ top scorer with 37.

Carlton v Hanging Heaton
Methley v Townville
Morley v Batley
New Farnley v Birstall
Bankfoot v Baildon
Keighley v Bradford & Bingley
Woodlands v Jer Lane
East Bierley v Pudsey St Lawrence
Pudsey Congs v Farsley

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



Hartshead Moor defeated a Bradford League Legends XI in a fund-raising T20 clash at Highmoor Lane...

Jack Hampshire Cup.jpg

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow, the only remaining Division Three side in the Gordon Rigg Jack...


Holders New Farnley secured their place in the final of the Solly Sports Heavy Woollen Cup with a...

View all news »