Jer Lane stay top after close encounter

Jer Lane stay top after close encounter

Jer Lane lead the way by 11 points in Second Teams Championship Two after a nine-run win over Hartshead Moor.

Openers Mohammed Rehman (81) and Abubaker Rehman (75) dominated their side's innings of 209 with a first-wicket stand of 109. Once they were out, Chris Hill (4-44) and Rob Swift (4-28) made theiur mark.

Swift followed up with 47 as Hartshead Moor replied with 197. Their hopes of forcing victory were shattered by the efforts of Mohammad Jamal (5-48) and Nabbil Khan (3-58).

Great Preston stepped up their promotion challenge with a 15-run victory over Birstll in a high-scoiring encounter.

Ian Newton (76), Ben Broxup (41) and Richard Young (32) led the way for Great Preston while a generous bonus of 39 extras was something Birstall would rue later in the game. Skipper Sean Twohig was their best bowler with 3-53.

Birstall made a spirited reply with Shoaib Baig (56), Zulfikar Mehmood (50) and Miraj Khan (44) leading the way against a bowling attack led by David illingworth (4-46).

Ryan Healey produced a sparkling innings of 150 as Oulton defeated Scholes by 167 runs. He hit seven sixes and 16 fours to help his side post a score of 276-8. Shabir Ellahi was the best Scholes bowler with 4-92.

The experienced Andrew Spencer (41no) was the one Scholes batsman to look at ease as they were bowled out for 109 by Jake Dalgreen (5-45) and Alex Houghton (5-55).

Spen Victoria could only field eight men for their match with Hopton Mills and it was no surprise when they suffered a nine-wicket defeat.

Spen were bowled out for 50 with opener Sam Miller (25) scoring half their runs. Arshad Ali (4-3) and Ahmed Faraz (3-5) showed no mercy. Paul Moorhouse was unbeaten on 23 as Mills cruised to victory.

Liversedge also suffered a nine-wicket defeat at the hands of Brighouse after being bowled out for just 55. Abdul Hamed took the bowling honours with 6-25 while Ritesh Tandelkar picked up 4-25. Mohammad Mehmood was 29 not out when Brighouse reached their target.

Kabir Bashir took 4-16 as Wrenthorpe bowled out Townville for 85 on their way to a 10-wicket win. Openers Nathan Ellis (42no) and Joe Wigglesworth (35no) steered their side home without loss.

Sikander Khan's unbeaten 54 enabled Wakefield St Michael's to secure a seven-wicket win over Altotfs. Khan made sure the good work of Zaeem Zulfqar (4-20) and Al;ex hale (3-29) did in bowling out Altofts for 96.