web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Lightcliffe prepare for a tricky encounter

Lightcliffe prepare for a tricky encounter

The Gordon Rigg Jack Hampshire Cup Second Round is staged on Sunday with Yeadon v Lightcliffe the possible stand-out tie.

Yeadon v Lightcliffe

Lightcliffe, playing in the competition for the first time, had a 15-run win over Hunslet Nelson in the First Round. It wasn’t entirely convincing, but Jack Hendy’s knock of 67, and Peter Dobson’s bowling figures of 3-10 swayed the balance.

Yeadon, who won this trophy in 2019, had a bye to this stage. Both teams are handily placed in the Second Division and will see this tie as a pleasant diversion to a possible route to silverware.

Northowram Fields v Bowling Old Lane

Northowram Fields were the headline team in the last round when they made history with a record score of 445-5.

South African Harry Hauenstein led the way with a powerful 182 which contained 10 sixes and 18 fours and he was joined in a second wicket partnership of 257 by opener Ben Grech who made a fine 121.

Grech struck two sixes and 17 fours and when he departed the suffering Rodley bowlers found Northowram Fields skipper John Lister (77) keen to get in on the action.

Rodley were dismissed for just 89 to lose by 356 runs - the biggest in the competition since the merger of the Bradford and Central Yorkshire leagues in 2016.

Fields form in the league suggests that they are one of the favourites to win the cup.

The 2018 winners Bowling Old Lane progressed with a 100-run win over Gildersome & Farnley Hill. Farhan Hussain scored 85 not out and Tahir Khan (49) as Old Lane made194-7.

Crossflatts v Buttershaw St Paul’s

Crossflatts must have been disappointed not to take their bow in this competition in the last round when Liversedge forfeited the tie.

 Doubtless, Buttershaw St Paul’s, who often thrive in cup competition, will be keen to progress when they visit Crossflatts.

St Paul’s had a bye to this stage.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow v Scholes

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow have had some impressive wins in the league this season and could be a handful this weekend for Scholes.

Scholes made no mistake in the First Round, beating Hopton Mills by 63-runs. Nick Firth (80) and Adam Greenwood (55) helped Scholes to a decent total of 226, while skipper Josh Fell did the business with the ball taking 4-16.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow had a bye to this stage.

Sandal v Spen Victoria

Sandal could be dark horses for this trophy having had some good results this term.

They swept aside the high-flying Division Three side Adwalton in the last round with a 199 win.

Sandal made 370-7, with Karl Hewitt (85), Matthew Westwood (66), Sam Noden (46no), Leighton Shuttleworth (38) and Brandon Hewlett (33) all helping themselves to runs. Former Hopton Mills’s seamer Michael Carroll was the best of Sandal’s bowlers with 4-32.

They will be big favourites to beat Spen Victoria who have improved in the league after a poor start.Spen had a bye to this round.

East Leeds v Hartshead Moor

Hartshead Moor won this tournament in 2017 when they defeated Wakefield St Michael’s in the final, and they would dearly love to win it again.

They are in a critical position in Division Two and will be looking for some salvation in the cup.  They visit East Leeds who can make it very difficult for them on their own patch.

Both sides had a bye to this stage.

Wakefield St Michael’s v Altofts

In the last round, Altofts had a resounding nine-wicket victory over Brighouse. Patrick Hinchliffe (3-8), Louis Holt (3-15) and Craig Wood (3-20) set Altofts on course for a win which was sealed with an unbeaten 42 from Craig Wood.

Altofts, despite their lack lustre season so far in the league, could make it tough for Wakefield St Michael’s, who had a bye to this round.

Great Preston v Windhill & Daisy Hill

Great Preston moved into the second round with a 198-run win over Crossbank Methodists. Skipper Oli Baron (89) and James Conlon (80) led the way with the bat, while Baron completing a fine individual performance by taking 5-21.

Great Preston are one of a handful of teams capable of winning this trophy, and they are certainly odds-on to beat Windhill & Daisy Hill.

Windhill & Daisy Hill, who had a bye to this round, could make it awkward for Great Preston if their talisman all-rounder Tabassum Bhatti plays.

Round Two
Yeadon v Lightcliffe
Sandal v Spen Victoria
Crossflatts v Buttershaw St Paul’s
East Leeds v Hartshead Moor
Heckmondwike & Carlinghow v Scholes
Wakefield St Michael’s v Altofts
Northowram Fields v Bowling Old Lane
Great Preston v Windhill & Daisy Hill

 Jack Hampshire Winners since 2016
2016 Ossett 230-7 Buttershaw St Paul's 93
2017 Hartshead Moor 227-2 Wakefield St Michael’s 206-7

2018 Keighley 202-8 Bowling Old Lane 203-4
Birstall 132 Yeadon 136-8
2020 No competition 
2021 Jer Lane 306-5 East Ardsley 254-9

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



Morley have taken over at the top of the Premier Division after defeating bottom team Bankfoot by...

Tom Clee_edited.jpg

It has been a doubly successful Bank Holiday for Woodlands, New Farnley Townville and Pudsey St...

BJCL U13 2023.jpg

It was a winning double in the Bank Holiday Monday sunshine as both our teams had convincing...

View all news »