web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Lightcliffe set for Jack Hampshire bow

Lightcliffe set for Jack Hampshire bow

The first round of the Gordon Rigg Jack Hampshire Cup commences this weekend with Lightcliffe making their debut in the competition as one of the favourites. They have a home first round tie against fellow Division Two side Hunslet Nelson.

Alex Stead is a huge influence for Lightcliffe, scoring prolifically with the bat and helping to nurse along the promising young players. They will fancied to go through as they meet a Hunslet Nelson side that have struggled in the league this season.

In another tie, Adwalton, who have made a tremendous start to their Division Three season, might just give Sandal a scare. However, it will take a great effort to beat a Sandal side that have strengthened this season and as they aspire to greater things.

Liversedge are another side to have strengthened and will travel to their higher ranked opponents Crossflatts with a genuine chance of progressing.

High flying Scholes could well beat higher ranked Hopton Mills if they can replicate the form, they have been in so far this season.

Northowram Fields have a side built for cup cricket with their powerful batting line-up and will have too much for Rodley.

Bowling Old Lane, the 2018 winners, are another fancied team, but it will not be easy against Gildersome & Farnley Hill.

Great Preston are amongst a handful of teams that can realistically win this trophy and will be expected to gain victory in style at Crossbank Methodists.

Altofts should make home advantage count against a much-changed Brighouse side that are still trying to get it together.

Round One
Crossflatts v Liversedge
Adwalton v Sandal
Scholes v Hopton Mills
Rodley v Northowram Fields
Lightcliffe v Hunslet Nelson
Crossbank Methodists v Great Preston
Bowling Old Lane v Gildersome & Farnley Hill
Altofts v Brighouse

Byes: Yeadon, Heckmondwike & Carlinghow, Hartshead Moor, East Leeds, Spen Victoria, Wakefield St Michael’s, Buttershaw St Paul’s, Windhill & Daisy Hill.

Jack Hampshire Winners since 2016
2016 Ossett 230-7 Buttershaw St Paul's 93
2017 Hartshead Moor 227-2 Wakefield St Michael’s 206-7
2018 Keighley 202-8 Bowling Old Lane 203-4
2019 Birstall 132 Yeadon 136-8
2020 No competition 
2021 Jer Lane 306-5 East Ardsley 254-9


Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



Hartshead Moor defeated a Bradford League Legends XI in a fund-raising T20 clash at Highmoor Lane...

Jack Hampshire Cup.jpg

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow, the only remaining Division Three side in the Gordon Rigg Jack...


Holders New Farnley secured their place in the final of the Solly Sports Heavy Woollen Cup with a...

View all news »