web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

McFadyen shines as Keighley reach last eight while Jer Lane and Morley miss out

McFadyen shines as Keighley reach last eight while Jer Lane and Morley miss out

Keighley will be the only Division One side in the draw for the quarter finals of the Gordon Rigg Priestley Cup after scoring a six-wicket win over Premier Division strugglers Batley.

Noah McFadyen once again proved to be Keighley’s star man. After taking 4-23 as Batley were bowled out for 129, the talented Australian followed up with an unbeaten 63.

Leg spinner James Massheder (4-41) was the other Keighley bowler to prosper as the visitors were dismissed for 129. Skipper Roheil Hussain (37) and Mohammed Bhoola (31) were the main contributors for Batley.

Two more Division One clubs, leaders Jer Lane and Morley must have fancied their chances after piling up big score, but Premier Division opponents Cleckheaton and Methley hit back to win.

Jer Lane, who have not dropped a point in the league all season, made 297-8 at Moorend. Opener Abubakar Dawood led the way with 100, an innings containing two sixes and 15 fours. Deron Greaves (56) and skipper Raqeeb Younis (44) were also in good form while former Jer Lane player Hashim Wajid (4-47) was the most successful Cleckheaton bowler.

Overseas player Yusuf Baber showed his quality as Cleckheaton hit back to knock off the runs with 4.4 overs to spare. Yusuf hit three sixes and 12 fours while making 101 and he was joined in a third wicket stand of 149 by former Yorkshire all-rounder Richard Pyrah (74no).

When Baber was dismissed, Cleckheaton skipper Mally Nicholson (51no) joined Pyrah to see his side home to a seven-wicket win.

Morley’s batsmen were in good form as they made 305 - their highest score of the season – against a Methley side missing several regular members.

Openers Jack Rowett (77) and Matt Baxter (73) set the tone with an opening stand of 151 which was their second century partnership of the weekend.

With James McNichol also making 77, Morley looked to have given themselves a great chance of springing an upset, but Methley had other ideas.

Opener Jason Marshall was in sparkling form as he and Eitan Litvin (52) launched the innings with a stand of 134. Marshall didn’t let Litvin’s departure distract him as he went on to make 155, an innings punctuated with a six and 19 fours, but Morley will reflect on what might have been after dropping him when he was on 37.

David Nebard (3-45) was again the best of the Morley bowlers, but for the fifth time this season they conceded over 300 runs and that ended their hopes of securing a place in the last eight.

Morley’s Division One rivals Baildon, and East Ardsley were both resounding beaten by Premier Division outfits. Baildon went down by 10 wickets at home to holders New Farnley, while East Ardsley lost by nine wickets at Bradford & Bingley.

Baildon opener Kevin McDermott showed why he has been consistently scoring runs this season with a fine innings of 86 as his side were dismissed for 156. Australian Liam Guthrie was the main threat with 5-33.

New Farnley openers Aidan Langley (72no) and Lee Goddard (68no) were both dropped before powering their side to victory in just 17 overs.

East Ardsley’s decision to bat first at Wagon Lane backfired as they were soon in trouble against the bowling of Jack Luxton (4-47). They eventually limped to 143 all out with spinner Bradley Reeve picking up 3-25.

Openers Jacob Slator (74no) and Lewis Brown (42) ensured that Bradford & Bingley had little trouble knocking off the runs.

Hanging Heaton received a bye to the third round when opponents Carlton forfeited their tie.

Tom Clee, top, and Brad Schmulian, above, powered Woodlands to victory Pictures; Ray Spencer

Champions Woodlands had a surprisingly comfortable eight-wicket win over Pudsey St Lawrence in the tie which was expected to be the highlight of the round.

St Lawrence’s batting failed to fire as they were bowled out for just 145 with off spinner Kez Ahmed taking 3-39.
Woodlands cruised to victory with skipper Bras Schmulian (70no) and Tom Clee (40no) seeing them to their modest target.

Last year’s beaten finalists Townville avenged their recent league defeat at the hands of Bankfoot by recording a four-wicket win.

Jawad Waheed (43) and James Lee (40) top scored as Bankfoot made 190, James Glynn taking 3-39. Jonny Booth (54) and Harry Warwick (47) ensured Townville’s place in the last eight.

The draw for the quarter finals will be published on Monday evening at 7.30pm.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



The Management Board has made a substantive addition to the League’s disciplinary process...


It was an emotional Saturday morning for Lightcliffe Cricket Club stalwart Rodney Heyhoe writes...

Brad Schmulian.jpg

In this Premier Division preview, we look at how likely the big three of Woodlands, Townville and...

View all news »