web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

McFarlane hits ton in Hanging Heaton run spree

McFarlane hits ton in Hanging Heaton run spree

Hanging Heaton notched up their highest score of the season but saw their lead in the Second Teams Premier Division title race cut to 12 points by Woodlands and New Farnley.

While they were piling up 345-6 on their way to a 95-run win over Pudsey St Lawrence which earned them 17 points, their rivals both bagging 20-point maximums.

Defending champions Woodlands beat Pudsey Congs by 112 runs while New Farnley cruised to a 10-wicket win at Baildon.

The clash between Hanging Heaton and Pudsey St Lawrence produced 595 runs and saw two batsmen make centuries.

The experienced Rob McFarlane struck two sixes and 20 fours while making 116 for Hanging Heaton with two sixes and 20 fours, while Joshua Smith responded with a superb 100 as St Lawrence scored 250-5. He hit one six and 13 fours.

McFarlane was well supported by Danny Clifton (67) and James Byrne (52no) while Adam Frost persevered for St Lawrence to return figures of 5-38.

The young Saints side showed good intent in reply to such a big total with Jack Allman (83) and Frost (41) backing up the efforts of Smith. Byrne (3-30) was the best Hanging Heaton bowler.

Pudsey Congs look doomed to relegation after their defeat by Woodlands. Their batsmen had now answer to the bowling of Liam Bleazard (4-29), Josh Griffin (3-24) and Conor Butterworth (3-13) as they were dismissed for 102 when replying to a total of 214-6.

Tom Clee (59) led the way for Woodlands while Rob Medcalf chipped in with 46. Adam Patrick returned the best figures for Congs of 3-47.

New Farnley bowled out Baildon for just 78 as they romped to victory. Andrew Langley (4-11) and Will Swift (3-9) did the damage, Openers Aidan Langley and Joe Suggitt both made 34no to steer New Farnley home without losing a wicket.

Morley might have thought they were on track for victory when Gavin Goodlad (5-21) and Jack Hepworth (3-34) bowled out Lightcliffe for 94, but their opponents had other ideas.

Richard Tesseyman (4-25), Shoaib Hassan (3-5) and Marcus Kelly (3-22) hit back to dismiss Morley for 78. Only Harish Krishnesh (30) made an impression with the bat.

Umar Mirza (4-23) helped Batley dismiss East Bierley for 125 to secure a 23-run win for Batley James Higgins (35) top scored for East Bierley who were unable to cash in on the efforts of Alex Monaghan (6-35) in the Batley innings of 148.

Championship One

Veteran batsman Javid Umarji proved a big hit as leaders Gomersal snatched a one-wicket win over Carlton.

Umarji struck two sixes and 11 fours in an unbeaten knock of 76 which enabled his side to sneak past their opponents’ score of 150.

Lee Hurst (6-38) was the man who gave Gomersal a few anxious moments before Umarji saw them home.

Danny Wilbor (39) was the top scorer in the Carlton innings as Ryan Kitson (4-52) and Tom senior (3-46) led the Gomersal attack.

Gomersal secured gained 18 points for their win but saw Bradford & Bingley reduce their lead to one point as they bagged a maximum 20 for their 169-run win over neighbours Keighley.

George Heartfield (72), Lachlan Doidge (40) and Phil Broadley 9360 helped Bradford & Bingley to post a score of 230-7.

Keighley had no answer to the bowling of Mohammed Shakoor (6-11) as they were skittled out for 61.

Mohammad Qasim showed no mercy for weakened Undercliffe as he inspired third-placed Bankfoot to an emphatic 156-run win.

Not content at top scoring with 51 not out in Bankfoot’s 193, Qasim ran through the Undercliffe batting to take 7-8 as they were bowled out for 61. Ayaz Younis (44), and Amir Afsar (34) gave good support to Qasim in the Bankfoot innings.

East Ardsley are just a point behind Bankfoot after defeating Northowram Fields by 41 runs. Their evergreen slow bowler Mark Heald took 5-13 as they bowled out Fields for 72 to successfully defend their score of 113.

Ben Smith (42) led the way in the East Ardsley innings against some good bowling from Will Parkin (4-24) and Todd Reeday (3-27).

Hassan Hussain’s knock of 57 helped Methley overhaul an Ossett score of 157-9 as they recorded a six-wicket win. Phil Lamb (36) top scored for Ossett while Ben Waite (3-28) was the best Methley bowler.

Richard Noble made an unbeaten 53 as Cleckheaton secure d a four-wicket win over Farsley. Their victory was set up by Jimmy Ives (5-31) as Farsley were bowled out for 108.

Championship Two
Leaders Jer Lane took another step towards winning the Championship Two title with a 79-run win over relegation-threatened Brighouse.

Nasir Chowdrey (74) and Absar Hussain (38) helped Jer Lane to 185-9 before Mohammed Jamal
(4-39) helped dismiss Brighouse for 109.

Jer Lane now have an 18-point lead after second-placed Great Preston suffered a three-wicket defeat against Birstall.

Skipper Miraj Khan (92no) and Lee Peters (32no) steered their side past the Great Preston score of 178. Richard White (51) and James Gahan (48) led the way for Great Preston against the bowling of Joe Schofield (4-54).

Opener James Hardcastle made a fine 121 in third-placed Hartshead Moor’s 99-rin win over Wrenthorpe. He was supported by Will Gough (36) and Chris Hill (33) as a total of 239-6 was posted. Wrenthorpe were dismissed for 140 with Robert Swift taking 4-27.

Liversedge boosted their hopes of avoiding relegation with a convincing seven-wicket win over Hopton Mills. Allan Sumner took 3-0 as Mills were bowled out for 51 and hit an unbeaten 42 in the Liversedge reply.

John Holland (6-13) held the key to Wakefield St Michael’s two-wicket win over Oulton. Despite 46 from Gavin Dyson, Oulton were bowled out for 87 and Saints just edged past that score despite the efforts of Archie White (3-16).

Second-bottom Scholes edged out Townville by 11 runs in a close contest. After being restricted to 117-9, Scholes hit back by bowling out Townville for 106. Richard West (3-22), Shabir Ellahi (3-33) and Jason Dawson (3-30) held the key to their success, Darren Tomlinson’s battling 47 for Townville was in vain.

Unbeaten half-centuries from Liam Pettit (63no) and Elliot Carter (60no) powered Altofts to an eight-wicket win over rock-bottom Spen Victoria.

Derek Warriner (42no), Harry Medcalf (32) and Mark Loker (30) were the main contributors to Spen’s score of 156.


Buttershaw St Paul’s lost their grip on second place in the Conference after they suffered an eight-wicket defeat against Gildersome & Farnley Hill.

St Paul’s were bowled out for 180 with Anil Barot taking 6-46. Oliver Hague (39) and Silan Patel (31) were the top scorers.

Josh Sturgess powered Gildersome & Farnley Hill to the target by hitting an unbeaten 95 which was backed up by Rian Hoey (54).

Adwalton cashed in on St Paul’s defeat with a nine-run win over Crossbank Methodists. They are 50 points adrift of table-topping Sandal who restricted Windhill & Daisy Hill to 151-8 before racing to a 10-wicket win.

Rajab Ali took an impressive 5-7 as East Leeds bowled out Heckmondwike & Carlinghow on their way to an eight-wicket win. Daniel Thewlis led the way with 50.

Footnote: No individual details were available for the Crossbank Methodists v Adwalton or Windhill & Daisy Hill v Sandal matches when this report was completed at 1.15am Sunday.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


Bowling Old Lane are the new leaders of the Premier Division after defeating Morley by four...

Cleckheaton beat the weather and defeated Bradford & Bingley by seven wickets to lift themselves...

In today's Boundary Banter programme on BCB Radio co-presenter Paul Davis revealed how he...

View all news »