Murphy shines against his old club

Murphy shines against his old club

Jak Murphy produced a fine all-round performance against his old club to take Woodlands back to the top of the Premier Division.

Murphy top scored with 58  and followed up with 4-28 as Woodlands defeated Morley by 67 runs to edge a point ahead of Lightcliffe.

Kieran Collins (40) and Adrian Jack (36) also chipped in with runs to help Wooldands make 225 despite the efforts of Richard Winn (5-52). Morley made 158-9 in reply with Michael darby scoring 71.

Lightcliffe's hopes of retaining top spot were dashed by their 26-run defeat at the hands of East Bierley. Even a fine fourth-wicket stand of 158 between Bruce Lunn (80) and James Horne (70) couldn't propel them to victory.

Their hopes were dashed by the loss of their last seven wickets for 35 runs as James Higgins (5-44) and Wayne Robinson (3-18) secured victory for East Bierley.

Earlier, East Bierley had made 252 thnaks to the efforts of Rob Barker (65), Liam Walsh (34) and Tom Hoyle (39). Ben Cliff bowled well to take 5-51 for Lightcliffe.

Batley occupy thjird place agftyerbowling out Pudsey St Lawrence for 188 and easing to a four-wicket win thanks to Adnan Mahmood's 81. Brian Devine top scored for St Lawrence with 73.

An unbeaten century from skipper Chris Sowden, a knock containing six sixes and nine fours, helped New Farnley to make 222-7 on their way to a 51-run win over Bowling Old Lane. Opener Aidan Langley was the next top scorer with 45.

Old Lane were dismissed for 171 in their reply with former Yorkshire leg spinner Mark Lawson taking 4-50 and Chris Blackburn (3-35).

Adam Patrick took 6-26 for Pudsey Congs but couldn't spare them from a three-wicket defeat against Baildon. The Jenny Laners were indebted to William Kelly (58) for helping to take them past the Congs score of 141.

Sam Johnson (74) and Anthony Gilks (54) hit half-centuries for Yeadon who prop up the table despite their spirited reply of 209 to a Hanging Heaton score of 246. John Carruthers (4-25) and Jamie Baulk (3-72) ensured they didn't  register a first win.

The experienced trio of Rob McFarlane (65), Steve Bourne (53) and Nick Bresnan (44) provided the hulk of the Hanging Heaton runs.

Championship One

Gomersal still head the Championship One table by 11 points despite suffering a 21-run defeat against Methley.

Good knocks from Daniel Foster (59no), Jake Smartt (55) and Robert Clegg (38) saw Methley post a score of 216-9. Ryan Kitson (4-76) was the most successful bowler for Gomersal who wer dismissed for 195 in reply. Tony Blain (73) and Phil Carter (37) battled hard but Ben Waite (4-62) tipped the scales in Methley's favour.

Scott Mullins took 4-18 and followed up with top score of 37 as second-placed East Ardsley overhauled a farsley score of 157-9 to win by six wickets. Haroon Mahmood top scored for Farsley with 43 not out. Northowram Fields retained their grip on third place witha comfortable 103-run win at Keighley.

Richard Hosley's knock of 62 not out and Conor Andrews spell of 6-42 were not enough to save Ossett from a one-wicket defeat against Bankfoot. Hosley was the one Ossett batsman to make an impression in a total of 114 as Hamza Khan picked up 6-28.

Carlton's struggles continued with a two-wicket defeat at Cleckheaton. Sam Bailey took 4-21 as the visitors were bowled out for 130. Skipper Elliot Hallas made 37 to steer Cleckheaton home.

Zaid Saleem returned excellent figures of 7-16 as Bradford & Bingley dismissed struggling Undercliffe for 76 before racing to a nine-wicket win.

Championship Two
Leaders Jer Lane hit Championship Two's highest score of the season as they cruised to a 122-run win over Wrenthorpe.

Mohammed Rehman (69), Abu baker Dawood (69), Nabbil Khan (55) and Mohammed Jamal (44no) helped them post 307-6 before restricting Wrenthorpe to 185-9. Khan rounded off a fine individual performance by taking 4-36.

Hartshead Moor are five points adrift in second place after their 71-run win over Birstall. The highest contribution to the Hartshead Moor total of 163 was 36 extras which took some of the shine off the good work of Shoaib Baig (5-25). Birstall were all out for 88 with James hardcastle taking (3-15) and Rob Swift (3-32).

Jaymes Hollingsworth was the key performer as Altofts bowled out Liversedge for 114 on their way to a six-wicket win. He took 6-23 and followed up by making 35.

Wakefield St Michael's were indebted to Sheryar Noor as they defeated Oulton by 71 runs.  He took 5-16 as the Saints bowled out their rivals for 88 after making 159. Jake dalgreen took 4-52 for Oulton.

Peter Jackson (67) and Alex Leadbeater (56nno) guided Spen Victoria to a five-wicklet win over Scholes as they chased down a total of 181-8.

Townville also pulled off a successful run chase as they overhauled a Hopton Mills score of 202 to win by six wickets. Charlie Sykes (69no), Kieron Samuels (57) and Steve Walton (46) led the way. Earlier, Luke Jacques took 4-44 while Ahmed Faraz top scored for Mills with 51.

Great Preston were in sight of victory against Brighouse when their match was abandoned. They were 88-3 in reply to a score of just 99. Andrew Clark (5-25) and David Illingworth (4-30) were the successful Great Preston bowlers.


James Curtis nade 91 not out and took 3-63 as Adwalton secured a 69-run win over Crossbank Methodists.

Thanks to Curtis, Adwalton compiled a total of 262-4 which proved out of Crossbank's reach despite the spirited efforts of Steve McNally (59) and Nigel James (37no)  in making 193-9. Gary Lewsley also had a fine match for Adwalton, scoring 35 and following up with 5-35.

Dave Shaw hit an unbeaten 85 for Windhill & Daisy Hill but it wasn't enough to save his side from am eight-wicket defeat against Buttershaw St Paul's. Andrew Pinfield made 45 and John McDermott (39) in the successful run chase.

Rajad Ali (61) amd Shazaib Ayub (52mo) were backed up by Dan Thewlis (44) was East Leeds  scored 239-7 on their way to a 175-run win over Hunslet Nelson, who were bowled out for just 64.

Saad Hashmi was unbeaten on 39 when Heckmondwike & Carlinghow overhauled Rodley's 147-7 to secure a six-wicket win.