web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg
Priestley Cup final facts and figures

Priestley Cup final facts and figures

9 Aug 2019

First final: Sunday’s final is the 116th in the history of a competition. The first was played in 1904 when Allerton scored 202 before bowling out Shelf for 79 runs to win by 123 runs. Allerton opener William Robshaw made 112, the first of 13 centuries that have been made in finals.
Centuries in cup finals

Highest individual score: Ronnie Hudson made 158 as Hanging Heaton defeated Eccleshill by 115 runs in 1986.

Highest total Yeadon made 365 in the 1947 final with Salts who replied with 307 as the record for the highest final aggregate of 672 was set.

Lowest score: Bankfoot were bowled out for 27 as they suffered a 122-run defeat against Windhill in 1907.

Shortest final: The 1920 final between Bowling Old Lane and Bankfoot lasted just 88 minutes. Bankfoot were bowled out for 30 as Old Lane won by 10 wickets.

Biggest win in terms of runs: Bradford & Bingley defeated Farsley by 189 runs in the 2010 final. They made 309-5 before bowling out Farsley for 120.

Final tie: In 1918 Saltaire and Bankfoot were both bowled out for 99. The crowd of 13,500 at Park Avenue saw the legendary England Test player SF Barnes, above, take 8-50, a haul which included a hat-trick. In the replay at Bowling Old Lane two days later, 11,000 spectators saw Barnes take 5-43 as Saltaire dismissed Bankfoot for 890 on their way to a seven-wicket win.

Best bowling: Undercliffe’s Sandy Jacques produced the best bowling figures in a final of 9-30 as his side defeated Windhill in 1938. Windhill were bowled out for 99 in a match which Undercliffe won by four wickets.

9-30 Sandy Jacques Undercliffe v Windhill 1938
8-50 SF Barnes Saltaire v Bankfoot 1918
8-50 Sandy Jacques Undercliffe v Lidget Green 1940

Hat-tricks: There have been five hat-tricks in cup finals. The first was by SF Barnes in 1918 and the most recent was in 1958 by Derek Webster for Salts against Lidget Green.
1918 SF Barnes Saltaire v Bankfoot

1937 Eric Petts Great Horton v Lightcliffe 
1952 Wilf Burkinshaw Baildon v Keighley
1956  Percy Watson Spen Victoria v Pudsey St Lawrence
1958  Derek Webster Salts v Lidget Green

Stars come out: Sir Leonard Hutton, above, scored 64 to help Pudsey St Lawrence to win the cup for the first time in 1943 when they beat Brighouse by 84 runs.

Future stars: In 1994 the future Yorkshire and England opening bowler Matthew Hoggard (above), aged 15, played in the Pudsey Congs side that beat Yeadon by eight wickets.

Winning teams: Twenty-six clubs have lifted the Priestley Cup with 21 of them winning the competition more than once.

Past finals

Most wins: Undercliffe hold the record for the most Priestley Cup wins having listed the trophy 14 times. 
Results of past finals

Captain with most wins: Derek Blackburn led Bradford to six Priestley Cup final triumphs in 1953, 1957, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1966 one more than Matthew Doidge, above, who led Pudsey Congs to four wins in 2002, 2004, 2005 and after after securing his first victory with Farsley in 1995.

Hat-trick of wins: East Bierley are the only team to have won the Priestley Cup in three successive seasons, 1998, 199 and 2000.

Most Man of Match awards: Neil Hartley, above, of Bingley is the only player to have won it three times in 1974, 1978 and 1979. The only other person to win it on more than one occasion is Bradley Parker of Yorkshire Bank in 1992 and 1993.

Most final appearances before first win: East Bierley were beaten in seven finals, 1930, 1933, 1950, 1957, 1962, 1964, 1980, before Phil Taylor, above, finally lead them to victory over Farsley by 37 runs in 1981.

Longest losing final sequences: After winning the cup three times in 1915, 1920 and 1922, Bowling Old Lane were beaten in nine finals in 1923, 1928, 1929, 1931, 1932, 1934, 1957, 1961, 1965 before lifting the trophy again in 1968 with an 18-run win over Saltaire under the captaincy of Bradford League stalwart Brian Clough, above.

Top picture: Percy Watson of Spen Victoria took a hat-trick in their 1956 final defeat by Pudsey St Lawrence at Park Avenue.