Second Teams Review August 25

Second Teams Review August 25

26 Aug 2018

Woodlands need just ten points to be crowned Premier Division champions after their eight-wicket win over Yeadon.

Veteran spinner Phil Walker proved to be their star turn with 5-11 as the visitors to Albert Terrace were bowled out for just 77. Woodlands knocked off the runs for the loss of just two wickets with opener Kieran Collins making 36.

Woodlands now have 330 points and are 31 clear of the defending champions New Farnley, who defeated third-placed Pudsey St Lawrence by 72 runs.

Skipper Alex Baldwin top scored with 56 as New Farnley were bowled out for 180. Archie Scott (4-47) and Joshua Dracup (4-49) were the pick of the bowlers.

St Lawrence capitulated to 108 all out as Sam Barraclough impressed with 5-28 and was backed up by Aidan Langley (3-21).

Fourth-placed Hanging Heaton were bowled out for 82 as they suffered a 10-wicket defeat at the hands of neighbours Batley.

Mohammed Yaqoob took 5-34 for Batley while Imran Patel dominated his side’s reply with 63no.

Lightcliffe boosted their hopes of avoiding relegation with a crushing nine-wicket win over rock-bottom Ossett.

Jordan Pickles set up Lightcliffe’s win by taking 6-41 as Ossett were dismissed for 133. Skipper Michael Brooke steered his side home with an unbeaten 63.

Gomersal have replaced Lightcliffe in the bottom two after going down to a seven-wicket defeat against Priestley Shield finalists Bowling Old Lane.

Adam Zahid picked up 5-29 as Gomersal, despite 66 from Tony Blain, were bowled out for 161. Umar Zubair guided Old Lane to their target with an unbeaten 69.

East Bierley’s batsmen enjoyed themselves as they compiled a total of 323-6 in their 161-run win over Pudsey Congs.

Opener James Tucker (84) and Tom Hoyle (81) shared a second-wicket stand of 134 before Rob Barker swell the score with a knock of 69.

Barker continued his good work by taking 3-41 as Congs were all out for 162.

Championship One

Baildon had little trouble retaining their position at the top of the table as they cruised to an eight-wicket win over East Ardsley

Haris Hussain took 3-10 as Baildon bowled out their rivals for just 65 before cruising to their 15th win of the season.

Morley are just nine points behind after their eight-wicket win over Cleckheaton. Opener Ryan Dowse hit an unbeaten 80 as they overhauled Cleckheaton’s total of 136.

Andrew Kirkwood impressed with 6-15 for Morley while Craig Blackburn (51) was Cleckheaton’s top scorer.

Farsley are a further six points back in third place after a two-run win over Bradford & Bingley.

Richard Sutcliffe took 3-24 and Jonathan Robinson (3-33) as Bradford & Bingley were dismissed for 134, Will Grace making 38, when they replied to Farsley’s 136-8.

Defeat was hard on George Heartfield who took 6-33 in the Farsley innings where Ryan Blackburn (38) and Steven Cockshott (33) were the top scorers.

Wrenthorpe slipped deeper into relegation danger as they suffered a 77-run home defeat against fellow strugglers Methley.

David Winter (75), Josh Neal (44) and Charlie Winter (31) helped Methley to a challenging score of 230-6 despite Sam Wigglesworth taking 3-51.

Wrenthorpe were bowled out for 153 as James Gahan impressed with 5-21. The result leaves Wrenthorpe in the bottom two, 14 points adrift of Undercliffe who suffered a 98-run defeat to Carlton.

Jamie Bingle took 5-33 and Tom Ward (3-36) as Undercliffe were bowled out for 73 in reply t0 Carlton’s 171.

Jamie Newboult (53), Stephen Leatherdale (36) and Keith Taylor (35) top scored for Carlton, while Abdullah Khan (3-42), Scott Dawson (3-43), and Paul Stothart (3-67) were the main Undercliffe bowlers.

Amaan Ishaq made an unbeaten 196 as Bankfoot defeated rock-bottom Wakefield St Michael’s by nine runs. Josh Marsden (32) was the next highest scorer as Ashley Hale took 4-78.

Hale followed up with an unbeaten 65 while Cavan Connolly chipped in with 35 in a St Michael’s total of 174-6.


Championship Two

Dillon Birkett produced impressive figures of 7-26 as leaders Keighley confirmed promotion with an eight-wicket win over bottom team Azaad.

Birkett was backed up by Ben Jagger 3-25 as Azaad were shot out for 54. Keighley now need six points to clinch the league title.

Paul Bottomley (73no) and Ben Grech (69no) shared an unbroken third-wicket stand of 129 as they steered second-placed Northowram Fields to an eight-wicket win over Great Preston.

Richard White (47) top scored in Great Preston’s 159, while Shakeel Mahmood (3-54) and Kaden Lancaster (3-21).

Miraj Khan hit 16 fours while making 110 for Birstall in their 124-run win over Townville. Sean Twohig (32) gave support in a total of 212-5.

Townville found runs hard to come by and were bowled out for 88 with Hammad Khan taking 3-31 and Connor Teale (3-20).

Scholes returned to winning ways with a comfortable eight-wicket win over Liversedge. Saif Tahir made an unbeaten 104 as his side overhauled Liversedge’s score of 199.

Skipper Adam Wood (44no) joined Tahir in adding 110 runs in an unbroken third-wicket partnership after opener Nick Firth had made 38.

Liversedge built their total around the contributions of Ashraf Karolia (61), Mark Goodall (44) and Matthew Gibson (38). Richard West was the pick of the bowlers with 5-39.

Qasim Siddique (47no) and Adam Siddique (46) led the way for Brighouse as they chased down Spen Victoria’s 160-5 to win by five wickets. Jonathan Elstub (36no) and Tom Burton (32) were the best of the Spen batsmen.

Hartshead Moor were bowled out for just 58 as they suffered a six-wicket defeat against Sandal. Callum Nuttall took 5-34 and Louis Holt (3-8).



Jer Lane are just 14 points away from securing the Conference title at the first attempt after their 59-run win over Heckmondwike & Carlinghow.

Abubakar Dawood led the way with an impressive 122 while Raees Tahirkeli (57) helped swell the Jer Lane total to 240-7.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow made 181-9 in their innings as Mohammed Jamal (4-41) ensured that Jer Lane secured the win.

Second-placed Oulton kept up their promotion challenge with a hard-earned two wicket win over Sandal in a low-scoring game.

Alan Winn (5-23) and Oliver Brown (4-38) impressed as Sandal were bowled out for 83. Oulton didn’t have things all their own way and lost eight wickets reaching their target as Abdul Sator (4-26) and Richard Gibson (3-23) made them work hard for rubs.

Will Cutt hit an unbeaten 49 as Adwalton maintained their promotion challenge with an eight-wicket win over Crossbank Methodists.

Earlier, James Curtis (5-27) and Andrew Ingham (3-32) bowled out Crossbank for 121.

An unbeaten 104 from Andrew Pinfield enabled Buttershaw St Paul’s to defeat East Leeds by four wickets. He hit four sixes and 13 fours while Patrick McGrath (34) helped chase down the East Leeds score of 171.

Gildersome & Farnley Hill’s Sufiyan Zaman made 91 not out and Martin Morley (6-61) produced fine individual performances but ended up on losing side.

Gildersome were dismissed for 167 as they went down by 73 runs against Hunslet Nelson. Phil Mansfield (50) and Mohammad Iqbal (37) helped Nelson make 240-9 when they batted first.

Rodley had little trouble securing a 10-wicket win over Windhill & Daisy Hill. Andrew Keegan took 4-19 as Windhill & Daisy Hill were bowled out for just 64. Dan Turbitt made an unbeaten 33 as Rodley eased to their target.