Second Teams Review June 17

Second Teams Review June 17

18 Jun 2017

It was a day of close finishes in the Premier Division with Bowling Old Lane and Pudsey Congs both winning by one wicket.

Old Lane's victory came against Yeadon where they chased down their opponents' score of 209 with Muhammad Yasir scoring an unbeaten 71. Aaron Day (43) top scored for Yeadon as Ahsan Alishan picked up 4-51 and Adam Zahid (3-42) for Old Lane.

Pudsey Congs squeezed home in their battle with bottom team Lightcliffe. James Lindley Dawe (45) and Gopal  Makwana (41) helped Congs to get past Lightcliffe's 162. Wicketkeeper Chris Dyer made an unbeaten 42 for Lightcliffe, while Liam Stanhope (4-26) and Adam Patrick (3-28) were the best of the Congs bowlers.

Leaders Woodlands maintained their grip on top spot with a122-run win over Farsley. Opener Liam Brearley (pictured) with 83no and Cieran Garner (59) shared an opening stand of 110 which helped their side towards a total of 248-3. Jack McGahan built on their good work with an unbeaten 54. Farsley were bowled out for 126.

Hanging Heaton remain second after their four-wicket win over East Bierley. James Byrne made 61 and Imran Dawood (50) as they chased down East Bierley's 182. Rob Barker top scored for Bierley with an unbeaten 40.

New Farnley shot out Batley for 93 as they raced to a nine-wicket win. Chris Blackburn took 4-26 for New Farnley, while Joe Bedford (38no) and Joe Suggitt (37no) guided them to victory.

Leg spinner Archie Scott tok 5-57 as Pudsey St Lawrence bowled out lowly Morley for 143 to set up a six-wicket win. Ryan Dowse made a battling 39 for Morley while wicketkeeper Jack Allman made 48 in the Saints' reply.

Championship One

Former New Zealand Test batsman Tony Blain made 102 as leaders Gomersal defeated Wrenthorpe by 79 runs. Blain hit two sixes and 17 fours as he helped his side to a total of 193-9.

Wrenthorpe could only manage 114 in their innings with Joe Wigglesworth making 38. They were undone by the bowling of Ryan Kitson (5-11).

Undercliffe opener Darren Drake also hit a century as the second-placed side beat Methley by six wickets. Drake struck 23 fours in his unbeaten 106 which enabled his side to overhaul Methley's 159-6. Fourteen-year-old opener Harry Sullivan made 54 for Methley.

The best bowling performance in the division came from Ossett's Chris Hosley. He took 7-42 as his side bowled out Carlton for 171 to secure a 36-run win. Nohman Hussain top scored with 44 in Ossett's 207-7, while Tom Ward took 5-55 for Carlton.

Third-placed Cleckheaton were guided to a seven-wicket triumph over Bradford & Bingley by their skipper Chris Dobson.  He made 75 as they eased past the Bradford & Bingley score of 176-9. Vishal Shaw (44) was top scorer for Bradford & Bingley while Atta ur Rehman took 5-27 for Cleckheaton.

Julian Smith took 6-50 as East Ardsley bowled out Keighley for 155 on their way to a three-wicket win. Opener Ashley Battye made 55 in the successful response.

Chris Thornton was another bowler in good form. He took 5-7 as Wakefield St Michael's dismissed Idle for 99 . John Holland hit 45 as St Michael's secured a five-wicket win.

Championship Two

David Illingworth made 115 and James Bickerdike took 6-37 as Great Preston scored a  crushing 177-run win over Spen Victoria.

Illingworth hit two sixes and 19 fours and was well supported by Richard White (67), and James Bickerdike (40) in a Great Preston total of 320-8 declared. Only opener Derek Warriner (37) made an impression as Spen succumbed to Bickerdike's bowling and were all out for 143..

Leaders Bankfoot rolled over Azaad for 45 as they stormed to a six-wicket win  and Northowram Fields beat Hopton Mills by just one wicket after chasing down their score of 172.

There was a close finish to the derby game between Hartshead Moor and Scholes, with Scholes winning by one wicket.

Neil Kellett made a crucial 47 as they eased past the Hartshead Moor score of 110. Opener Rob Swift made 36 for Hartshead Moor while Kellett (3-30) and Abrar Heder (3-0)  were the pick of the Scholes bowlers. Jeff Wind (3-28) and Swift (3-29) bowled well for Hartshead Moor but just couldn't save their side froma slender loss.

Baildon's George Barker made 52 to help them to a total of 209-6 which helped them beat Birstall by 85 runs. Brad Hinchliffe took 3-29 as Birstall were bowled out for 124.


Leaders Liversedge kept hold of top spot with an emphatic nine-wicket win over Crossbank Methodists. Ben Cross took 5-14 and James Lunn (3-20) to dismiss Crossbank for 72. Opener Jonny Trevitt was unbeaten on 37 when Liversedge secured victory.

Sandal's Richard Gibson produced one of the best bowling performances of the season as he took 8-33 in their two-wicket win over Heckmondwike & Carlinghow.

Maqsood Hasmi top scored with 54 in Heckmondwike & Carlinghow's 165, while Chris Yale made the same score in the successful Sandal reply. Ilyas Hashmi (4-24) and Saad Hashmi (3-49) made sure Sandal had to fight for their triumph.

Perhaps the unluckiest player of the day was Brook Walton opener Thilantha Perera who was run out for 99 in his side's 26-run win over Hunslet  Nelson. Darren Sharp's 47 helped swell the score to 185-6 with Saad Shaik taking 4-23.

Nelson reply of 159 included 56 from Daniel Brooke-Mawson and 44 from Ollie Maitland, but Sharp 4-42 and Mark Harrison (3-47) ensured Brook Walton prevailed.

Charlie Sykes made an unbeaten 81 to guide second-placed Townville to a seven-wicket win over Gildersome, who they bowled out for 150. Sufiyan Zaman made 50 for Gildersome.

Pritesh Lad scored 91 and Don Bolland (55no) as Buttershaw St Paul's made 277-8 on their way to a 131-run win over Adwalton. Simon Bagnell's 37no was the top scorer in Adwalton's 146.

Javed Aslam took 4-10 when East Leeds bowled out Rodley for 121 as they secured a five-wicket win. Adam Lines hit 41 to take them to their victory target.

Alan Winn made 57 and Oliver Brown (38) as Oulton chased down Windhill & Daisy Hill's 145-8 to secure a seven-wicket win. Dominic Spivey made 40 for Windhill.