web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg
Second Teams Review September 1, 2018

Second Teams Review September 1, 2018

1 Sep 2018

Woodlands secured the Premier Division title with one game to spare after defeating East Bierley by eight wickets.

Opener Liam Brearley was an agonising one run away from a deserved century when victory was  secured.

His 99 not out, enabled Woodlands to ease past the East Bierley total of 184 and ensured that the championship trophy was heading back to Albert Terrace.

Brearley was joined in an unbroken third-wicket stand of 106 by Tom Clee (42no) as Woodlands ensured that there was no way back for defending champions New Farnley in the title race.

James Tucker (57) and Rob Barker (47) werte the top scorer for East Bierley while Scott Richardson (4-41) was the best of the Woodlands bowlers.

New Farnley's teenage spin bowlerSam Barraclough is one to watch. he took 6-31 as they bowled out Batley for 129 on their way to an eighjt-wicket win.

Fellow youngster Aidan Langley (3-25) backed up Barraclough's efforts before Jack Rowett (43) helped steer their side to victory.

Half-centuries from Josh Wilson (66no), Barrie Frankland (53) and Josh Smith (50) powered Pudsey St Lawrence to 265-7 in their 111-run win over Yeadon. Anthony Gilks top scored with 52 as Yeadon were all out for 154.

An unbeaten 71 from Naeem Khan and 56 from Sajid Khan helped Bowling Old Lane secure a four-wicket win over Hanging Heaton after bowling out their opponents for 180 Naeem Khan taking 3-29.

Gomersal's relegation back to Championship One after one season was confirmed after they suffered a five-wicket defeat against Lightcliffe who guaranteed their own safety with the win.

Former New Zealand Test batsman Tony Blain made 73 not out for Gomersal as they were restricted to 148-6. Lightcliffe were guided to victory by David Knight (44).

Already-relegated Ossett were bowled out for just 52 as they went down to a 10-wicket defeat against Pudsey Congs.

Championship One

Leg-spinner Jamie Abbott turned in another key performance as leaders Baildon kept their title bid on track with a 33-run win over Methley.

Abbott, who has taken more than 1,000 second team wickets in his career, picked upk 5-30 as Methley, despite the efforts of David Winter (40) and John Neal (40) were bowled out for 151 when replying to Baildon's 184. Opener Keon Dalladay to[p scored with 39.

Baildoin have 307 points and are ten ahead of Morley who beat Bankfoot by 31 runs. Richard Winn cracked an unbeaten 53 and Nav Siddique scored 35 as Morley made 173 despite the efforts of Harron Iqbal (4-57). Bankfoot were bowled out for 142.

Third-placed Farsley are just three points behind Morley following a 43-run win over Undercliffe.Mukdas Mohammad (47) and Jamie Hoyland (35) helped them to 201-7 before Undercliffe were dismissed for 158. Wasif Iqbal led the bowling with 4-32.

Lawrence Morton hit a century for already-relegated Wakefield St Michael's but it wasn't enough to save his side from another defeat.Morton made a fine 112 and was joined in a second-wicket alliance of 130 by Martin Bramley (55no) as St Michael's posted a scpre of 233-2.

East Ardsley's batsmen also found conditions to their liking with Scott Mullins (68) and Matt Redgwick (59) helping them to a five-wicket win.

Wrenthorpe drew level with Undercliffe on 178 points in the battle to aoid relegation.after a 77-run win over Bradford & Bingley. Mohammad Hamid Bashir led the way with 80 while Patrick Green (73) helped Wrenthorpe post a score of 241-7 before bowling out their rivals for 164.

Shahid Rehman hit an unbeaten 73 to steer Cleckheaton to a four-wicket win over Carlton. Stephen Page (62) top scored in Carlton's 176-9.

Championship Two

With Keighley already promoted and without a game. the focus was on which team will join them in Championship One next season.

Northowram Fields strengthened their hold on second place with a34-run win over Hartshead Moor. Shakeel Mahmood set the tone for his team's performance by hitting an unbeaten 110. With George Bickle making an unbeaten 61, Northowram Field were glad to finish on 225-5.

Joe Hough continued the good work with 6-67 as Hartshead Moor were all out for 171.

Jaymes Hollingworth was in good form for Alofts as they defeated Scholes by four wickets. He took 3-37 and supported Paul Denison (3-13) s Scholes were bowled out for 103, and hit 47 as his side reached their target.

Matthew Gibson picked up 5-28 as Liversedge dismissed rock-bottom Azaad for 80 on their way to a six-wicket win.

Miraj Khan produced an outstanding all-round performance for Birstall but ended up on the losing side. He top scored with a fine 103 in his side's 193, before taking 5-58 as Brighouseedged hom by two wickets.

Ian Green returned impressive figures of 6-6 as Townville dismissed Spen Victoria for 139 to secure  79-run win. Jonathan Elstub  top scored for Spen with 70.Will Rich led the way with 58 as Townville compiled a score of 218 when they batted first.

Andrew Clark (95) and Mark Hargreaves (82) led the way as Great Preston overhauled a Hopton Mills total of 250. Neil Harrison (70) and Michael Haley (59) were Mills' top scorers.


Jer Lane have been crowned as Conference champions in their debut season. Their title win was confirmed when they secured a 129-run win over Rodley.

Abubakar Dawood impressed with a sparkling 135 while Tom Harrison chipped in with 55 in a total of 199. Ian Brear hit an unbeaten 66 as Rodley finished well beaten on 170-4.

Oulton kept hold of second place after they defeated East Leeds by seven wickets.An unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 114 between Honathan Landels (56no) and Liam Dalgreen (52no) caried them to vicotry as they chased down their opponents' score of 119-9. Oliver Brown (5-15) impressed with the ball for Oulton.

Adwalton are just seven points behind Oulton after their rushing nine-wicket win over Windhill & Daisy Hil... Simon Bagnell took 4-16 as Windhill perished for 85. Chris Curtis hit an unbeaten 49 to steer Adwalton home.

Daniel Brook-Mawson's 73 helped Hunslet Nelson to a score of 229-6 as they defeated Crossbank Methodists by 84 runsShazad Riaz made a battling 51 for Crossbank as his side were bowled out for 145, Ellis Carrington taking 4-20.

Andrew Pickett was another candidate for being the day's unluckiest loser he took 6-47 and followed up with 44, but coould not save Heckmondwike & Carlinghow form a five-run defeat against Buttershaw St Paul's.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow finished on 160-9 in their reply to Buttrershaw's 165, which included 40 from Andrew Pinfield.

Chris Gibson made 70 to help Gildersome & Farnley Hill to a six-run win over Sandal.Ginbson helped his side make 165 beforeSandal were restricted to 165-8. David Farrell led the chase with 64.