web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Townville hope to mark centenary in style

Townville hope to mark centenary in style

Townville will be bidding to mark their centenary year by winning the Gordon Rigg Priestley Shield when they take on Woodlands at Hartshead Moor on Sunday.

The Division One side are playing in the final for the first time and they face a big test against a side who have won the competition five times.

The match will feature the two batsmen whose performances have lit up this season's competition, Townville's captain Kieran Samuels, top picture, and Woodlands' evergreen wicketkeeper/batsman Nicky Rushworth.

Samuels has hit two centuries and had two further scores of 60 or more . His aggregate of 392 runs from four innings gives him an aevrage of 130.67.

His highest score was 147 not out in the quarter-final win over Bankfoot after earlier making 113 in the first round win over Wrenthorpe.

Rushworth is second on the list of top scorers in this year's Shield with 253. He made the highest individual score when he made 180 in the second round win at Crossflatts. He  followed that up with 73 in the semi-final win over Jer Lane.

Rushworth is part of an experienced Woodlands side and he is one of three players who have been part of Priestley Cup winning side, Cieran Garner and Nathan Bromby are the others.

Garner is one of the few captains who have led Priestley Cup and Priestley Shield winning sides. He captained Woodlands to victory in the Shield in 2016 and the Cup in 2019.

Townville's side is far less experienced but does have a strong nucleus of talented young players who look to have bright futures in the game.

Townville (from): Kieran Samuels (Capt), Steve Walton, Joe Thompson, Alfie McMillan, Charlie Sykes, Finlay Walton, Jack Sykes, Alistair Ward, Tom Mellor, Rose Hodkinson, Jaden Hughes, Nash Charles, Niall Charles.
Woodlands: Harry Medcalf, Nicky Rushworth (wkt), Cieran Garner, Kieran Collins, Jack Bleazard, Jak Murphy, Rob Medcalf, Josh Griffin, Nathan Bromby, Kieran Rodger, Steven Pearson (capt). 12th man: Naved Siddique


Round One
Woodlands v Buttershaw St Paul’s
Buttershaw St Paul’s 137 Charlie Wainwright 44, (Joel Beaumont 3-15, Rob Medcalf 2-9)
Woodlands 139-1 (Harry Medcalf 41, Cieran Garner 48no)
The holders opened their defence of the trophy with a comfortable nine-wicket win over their Division Two opponents.
A stead bowling performance saw Joel Beaumont emerge with the best figures as St Paul’s, despite 44 from Charlie Wainwright, were bowled out for 137.
That total was never going to rouble Woodlands as they cruised to victory with former first team skipper Cieran Garner (48) and Harry Medcalf (41) leading the way.
Won by 9wkts

Round Two
Crossflatts v Woodlands
Woodlands 314-5 (Nicky Rushworth 180, Harry Medcalf (41), Cieran Garner (31)
Crossflatts 181 (Dan Trowers 82, Cieran Garner 3-24, Jack Bleazard (3-46)
Won by 133 runs
Division Three side Crossflatts were blown away with openers Nicky Rushworth and Harry Medcalf sharing a stand of 156 as Woodlands scored 314-5 in their 40 overs. Rushworth made the highest individual score in this year’s competition. He hit eight sixes and 25 fours while making 180.
Crossflatts made a creditable 181 in reply with Dan Trowers scoring 82 as Cieran Garner and Jack Bleazard each picked up three wickets.

Round Three
Lightcliffe v Woodlands
Woodlands 225-6 (Jak Murphy 56, Jack Bleazard 46, Steven Pearson 33)
Lightcliffe 214 (Michael Brooke 77, Rhys Jowett 61, Josh Griffin 4-41)
Won by 11 runs
Woodlands were made to battle hard for their 11-run win by their Division One opponents. The experienced pair of Michael Brooke (77) and Rhys Jowett (61) shared a second wicket stand of 111, but Lightcliffe lost their last eight wickets for 31 as Josh Griffin (4-41) revived Woodlands’ fortunes.
Jak Murphy (56) top scored in the Woodlands total of 225-6 and was well supported by Jack Bleazard (46). Skipper Steven Pearson, who promoted himself from his normal number 11 spot to open, made 33.

Woodlands v Jer Lane
Jer Lane 162 (Adnan Mahmood 44, Haroon Mahmood 38no, Nathan Bromby 3-36)
Woodlands 166-4 Nicky Rushworth 73
Won by 6wkts
The semi-final draw pitted Woodlands against the Premier Division leaders Jer Lane. The key to their success was a solid bowling performance spearheaded by Nathan Bromby (3-36) as the normally free-scoring Jer Lane side were bowled out for 162. Adnan Mahmood (44) and Haroon Mahmood (38no) proved to be the top scorers.
Woodlands were guided to their victory target and a place in the final by opener Nicky Rushworth (73).

Round One
Wrenthorpe v Townville
Townville 222-6 (Kieran Samuels 113)
Wrenthorpe 135 (Paul Marshall 50), Alistair Ward 4-10)
Won by 87 runs
Skipper Kieran Samuels launched Townville’s Shield campaign with an innings of 113 as they defeated Wrenthorpe by 87 runs. Two sixes and 13 fours flowed from his bat as he helped his side post a score of
222-6. Wrenthorpe could only manage 135 despite 50 from Paul Marshall as Alistair Ward picked up 4-10.

Round Two
Townville v Farsley
Farsley 193-9 (Niall Charles 4-27)
Townville 194-6 (Kieran Samuels 60, Steve Walton 41, Charlie Sykes 32)
Won by 4wkts
Townville overcame the Division One pacesetters Farsley in round two. Young spinner Niall Charles took 4-27 as Farsley made 193-9. Kieran Samuels (60) and Steve Walton (41) got the Townville reply off to a good start while Charlie Sykes chipped in with 32 as Townville eased home by four wickets.

Round Three
Townville v Bankfoot
Townville 252-5 (Kieran Samuels 147no), Joe Thompson (35)
Bankfoot 120 (Niall Charles 3-10)
Won by 132 runs
Taking on Premier Division Bankfoot held no terrors for Townville as another century from Samuels set them in course for a 132-run win. He made 147 not out, an innings punctuated with three sixes and 21 fours, as Townville posted a total of 252-5. Bankfoot faltered in reply and were bowled out for 120 with Niall Charles taking 3-10.

Townville v New Farnley
Townville 214-7 (Kieran Samuels 72, Finn Walton (38no), Sam Barraclough 4-34)
New Farnley 196-8 (Lukas Ruane (68), Joe Pyrah (41), Alfie McMillan 3-48)
Won by 18 runs
The semi-final saw Townville claim their second Premier Division scalp as they defeated New Farnley by 16 runs. Once again Samuels featured prominently in his side’s win. Samuels top scored with 72 and was backed up by Finn Walton (38no) as a total of 214-7 was made despite the efforts of left-arm spinner Sam Barraclough (4-34). Lukas Ruane (68) and Joe Pyrah (41) led the New Farnley reply of 196-8. Alfie McMillan (3-48) was the pick of the bowlers as Townville clinched a place in the final for the first time.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg



Morley have taken over at the top of the Premier Division after defeating bottom team Bankfoot by...

Tom Clee_edited.jpg

It has been a doubly successful Bank Holiday for Woodlands, New Farnley Townville and Pudsey St...

BJCL U13 2023.jpg

It was a winning double in the Bank Holiday Monday sunshine as both our teams had convincing...

View all news »