web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg
Who wins the argument to be Team of the Decade?

Who wins the argument to be Team of the Decade?

Author: Reg Nelson


The decade 2010-2019 saw the expansion of the league with the merger with the Central Yorkshire League as the competition received the deserved status of an ECB Premier League.


Looking back over the period there were clearly three major players in the top-flight, Hanging Heaton, Woodlands and Pudsey St Lawrence. Social media has been alive with debate about who was the `Team of the Decade'.


Making comparisons based upon the number of trophies won isn’t easy when the clubs do not play in the same external competitions. For example, Woodlands and Hanging Heaton play in the Heavy Woollen Cup while Pudsey St Lawrence, pictured below after their 2018 title win, do not.



If it was decided on the big two domestic trophies, the title and the Priestley Cup the roll of honour would read

6 Woodlands,

5 Pudsey St Lawrence,
2 Cleckheaton
2 Bradford & Bingley

1Hanging Heaton
1 Pudsey.Congs
1 East Bierley
1 Lightcliffe
1 New Farnley


Now if you add in the league’s T20 Cup the table looks like this

6 Woodlands
6 Pudsey St Lawrence
4 Pudsey Congs
4 Bradford & Bingley

3 Hanging Heaton
2 Cleckheaton
1 East Bierley
1 Lightcliffe
1 New Farnley
1 Morley
1 Undercliffe


However, Hanging Heaton,above, have won four of the five external competition they have entered, and when one is at national level they do have a case to be the top team.


They became the only Bradford Premier League side to win the Yorkshire Premier League Play-Offs in 2017.


In 2018 they had an amazing end to the campaign. Having earlier won the league’s T20 Cup they completed the double of Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy and the Heavy Woollen, before winning the Vitality ECB National Club Champions to crown an unprecedented three-week period.


Woodlands also had external success with Heavy Woollen Cup wins in 2013 and 2015 while Pudsey St Lawrence were joint winners of the Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy in 2017.

When external competitions are factored in the order is: -


8 Woodlands
8 Hanging Heaton

7 Pudsey St Lawrence
5 Pudsey Congs
4 Bradford & Bingley

2 Cleckheaton
2 New Farnley
2 Wrenthorpe
1 East Bierley

1 Lightcliffe
1 Morley
1 Undercliffe



Hanging Heaton

Premier Division: 2017

Heavy Woollen Cup: 2013, 2018

Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions: 2018

T20 Cup: 2017, 2018

Vitality ECB National Club T20 Champions: 2018

Yorkshire Premier League champions: 2017


First Division: 2011, 2012
Premier Division: 2019

Priestley Cup: 2016, 2018, 2019

Heavy Woollen Cup: 2015, 2017


Pudsey St Lawrence

First Division: 2015
Premier Division: 2016, 2018

Priestley Cup: 2011, 2014

Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions: 2017 (shared with York CC)

T20 Cup: 2010


Pudsey Congs

First Division: 2010
T20 Cup: 2012, 2014, 2015
Heavy Woollen Cup: 2014


Bradford & Bingley
Priestley Cup: 2010, 2015
T20 Cup: 2011, 2016


First Division: 2013, 2014


New Farnley
Priestley Cup: 2017
Heavy Woollen Cup: 2016



Heavy Woollen Cup: 2010, 2012

East Bierley
Priestley Cup: 2012


Priestley Cup:



T20 Cup: 2013,


T20 Cup: 2019

There will be different opinions about who has been the top team over the past decade, but one thing is not in doubt – all of the candidates are a credit to the Bradford Premier League.


Words: Reg Nelson 
Pictures: Ray Spencer