web banner bradford cricket leagueDY.jpg

Woodlands and New Farnley reach last four

Woodlands and New Farnley reach last four


New Farnley and Woodlands are the latest sides to secure their place in the semi-finals of the Gordon Rigg T20 Group A Cup.

They will be joined in the last four by holders Hanging Heaton who made sure of their place last week, while the 2019 winners Undercliffe need only one point from their final game against Pudsey St Lawrence to join them.

The semi-finals will be played on Tuesday, July 12 with New Farnley at home to Woodlands and Hanging Heaton hosting the Pool Four winners.

New Farnley were confirmed as Pool Two winners after they defeated Morley by seven wickets and Batley put an end to Ossett’s hopes as they beat them by six wickets.

Morley, who could have topped the group with a win, slipped to 6-3 before their overseas player Kavindu Kulasekara (72no) and, Henry Rush (41) enabled them to reach 133-5. Aidan Langley (36) and Dan Hodgson (35) enabled New Farnley to reach their target with 3.1 overs to spare.

Yasi Ali struck an unbeaten 61 as Batley chased down an Ossett score of 143-7 to win by six wickets despite good bowling from Mattie Race (3-19) Skipper Marcus Walmsley (55no) and Sajith Warnakulasuriya (31) top scored for Ossett.

Liam Collins, above, made 100 off 45 balls, hitting five sixes and 13 fours and was supported by Muhammad Bilal (48) as Woodlands scored 236-6 as they defeated Baildon by 112 runs. Skipper Brad Schmulian took (4-16) as the Jenny Laners were dismissed for 124, Joe Newlove making 42.

Jer Lane’s Quadratullah Azizi , above,was another century maker. He made 105 from just 44 balls, smashing 11 sixes and six fours in his side’s 22-run win over Keighley. Australian Noah McFadyen was the pick of the bowlers with 4-24 and followed up by top scoring with 71 not out as Keighley made 194-8 in reply to their opponents’ 216. Billy Whitford (43) and Ben Hemsley (37) made useful runs as Deron Greaves took 3-26.

There was a thrilling finish at Bankfoot where Osama Ahmad hit the fifth ball of the final over for four to secure a four-wicket win for the home side. Zia Ul Haq Parwani (41) and Hisan Ahmad (32) were the main contributors as Bradford & Bingley’s total of 204-7 was overhauled. Australian Corey Miller (85) impressed again while Ahmad (3-43) posed the main threat.

Hanging Heaton rounded off their Pool One campaign with a five-wicket win over Townville. Sri Lankan Sasith Manuranga (above, 55) and skipper Ben Kohler-Cadmore (36) helped them pass Townville’s score of 141 with seven overs to spare. Jack Hughes (35) top scored for Townville who lost their way against the bowling of Callum Bethel (4-25) and Jack Rich (4-27).

Methley conceded their match with East Ardsley

Undercliffe had a comfortable 51-run win over Pudsey Congs to take control of Pool Four. After making 127-7 with Ollie Hardaker scoring 32, they dismissed their rivals for 75. The high spot of the night for Congs was the bowling of Ryan Heptinstall (4-8).

East Bierley romped to a seven wicket win over Farsley with 6.1 overs to spare thanks to Sam Gatenby (85) and Nisar Ahmad (36). Farsley’s score of 179-6, which featured 67 from Ryan Cooper plus useful knocks from Dan Revis (41) and Jamie Blackburn (32) was overtaken with the minimum of fuss.

In the Group B Cup, the 2020 winners Northowram Fields recorded their second win in Pool One by defeating Scholes by three-wickets in a thrilling finish. Jack Duffy hit the fifth ball of the last over for four to secure victory, but the success owed much to the fine batting of Australian Harry Hauenstein (63). Adam Greenwood (3-21) was the best of the Scholes bowlers while David Townsend (43) top scored when they made 145-7 batting first. Duffy picked up 3-29 for Northowram Fields.

Zohail Iqbal (34no), Shoaib Iqbal (33) and Adam Swaine (31) helped Windhill & Daisy Hill to make 185-7 in their eight-run win over Spen Victoria. Ayyaz Ali (47) and Muhammad Ullah (34) helped Spen Victoria make 177-7 in reply.

It is all very tight in Pool Two where four points cover the four teams. Adwalton joined Gildersome & Farnley Hill at the top on 27 points after beating them by 13 runs.

Chris Priestley hit an unbeaten 47 as Adwalton scored 156-6 before bowling out Gildersome & Farnley Hill for 143. Australia Nathan Cant took 3-20 while Muhammad Shah (68) top scored for Gildersome & Farnley Hill.

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow defeated Hunslet Nelson by two runs in a close fought encounter. Wajid Hussain (38), Usman Qureshi (34) and Nikhil Thakur (32) helped them make 153-6 as Will Stiff picked up 3-16.

Hunslet Nelson’s response was led by Tm Hendry (61) and Stiff (33), but they finished of 151-5, agonisingly close to their opponents’ score.

Great Preston lead the way in Pool Three following their five-wicket win over Altofts. Richard White (72) and Oli Baron (58) enabled them to chase down the Altofts score of 181-8 despite the efforts of Jack Palmer (3-26).

Andrew Wood (47), Adam Perry (43) and overseas Jabari Mills (32), were the main contributors for Altofts as James Conlon (3-23) proved to be the pick of the bowlers.

The 2021 beaten finalists Sandal registered their first win as they overcame Wakefield St Michael’s by eight wickets. Bradley Wood (49) top scored as St Michael’s made 120-7, but it was not a big enough total to trouble Sandal. Karl Hewitt (36) and Sam Noden (32no) made sure of that. Noden had earlier taken 3-23.

Spencer galleries.jpg
Podcast web.jpg


2022-08-09 (1)_edited.jpg

The weather is set fair for the Gordon Rigg Priestley Cup Final this Sunday between New Farnley...


The Bradford & Bingley players celebrate taking a wicket during their Gordon Rigg Bradford...

Nick Connolly.jpg

This preview focuses on the fine individual cricketers who have lit up this season and are...

View all news »