The Bradford Cricket League was formed in 1903 with twelve clubs but only two (Undercliffe and Bankfoot) are are current members.

The first club to win the Bradford Cricket League was Shelf, in 1903, claiming their only League title. In total, the League has had twenty-seven different winners of its top division. The most successful club is Bradford CC, with 10 titles. The most successful club to still operate in the Bradford League is Undercliffe, who have nine titles to their name.[4]

The turn of the century saw the domination of Pudsey Congs and Woodlands within the top division. Pudsey Congs won five consecutive titles between 2000 and 2004, and Woodlands won the following four titles. 

In 2016, The Bradford Cricket League merged with the Central Yorkshire League to form the Bradford Premier League. Until then, the League had operated as two divisions, but this format was expanded to four divisions to accommodate the extra teams.

The League runs two cup competitions for first teams and one for second teasm. The first team competitions are the Priestley Cup for Premier Division and Championship One clubs  and the Jack Hampshire Cup for teams in Championship Two and the Conference.

The Priestley Cup, which has been running since 1904, and the only club ever to have won the Cup three times in a row is East Bierley, who won in 1998, 1999 and 2000.[ However, the most successful club in the competition is Undercliffe, who have won it fourteen times.

The second team competition is the Priestley Shield, which has been running since 1911.